News 29 Oct 2022

Tanti takes the AUSX fight to Brayton at Adelaide

Championship points now tied halfway through the series.

Image: Foremost Media.

CDR Yamaha Monster Energy Team rider, Aaron Tanti, claimed the SX1 Final victory at the Adelaide round of the 2022 Fox Australian Supercross Championship, after holding off a fierce charge from defending champion, Justin Brayton.

As he’d done during his heat earlier in the evening, BBR 102 Motorsports’ Matt Moss claimed the holeshot of the SX1 final, but it was short-lived, as Tanti quickly passed him for the lead.

Honda Genuine Polyflor Honda Racing’s Justin Brayton also found his way past Moss on the second lap, and desperately tried to reel in the two-second buffer that Tanti had rapidly established.

Tanti refused to yield and kept the pressure on, clicking off consistent laps, as he went on to claim his first SX1 supercross victory with a 3.67s margin.

Brayton continued fighting to the end but was forced to settle for second, while CDR Yamaha Monster Energy Team’s new rider, Josh Hill, put a bad start behind him to finish a hard-fought third, ahead of Moss.

Honda Racing’s Kyle Webster also came through the pack from ninth to round out the top five.

Husqvarna Racing Team’s Dylan Wills, Hayden Mellross (GasGas Racing Team), Jackson Richardson (Empire Kawasaki) , Dylan Wood (KTM) and Cory Watts (Honda) would complete the remaining top 10 positions.

Halfway through the four-round championship, Tanti and Brayton are tied for the lead on 47 points apiece, with Moss third (34 points).

The third round of the 2022 Australian Supercross Championship will be held at Newcastle, NSW on 26 November.

Detailed results