Features 29 Oct 2022

Racefeed: 2022 AUSX Rd2 Adelaide

Direct updates from round two of the championship at Adelaide Showground.

Follow the 2022 Fox Australian Supercross Championship (AUSX) with direct SX1 and SX2 updates from round two of the season at Adelaide Showground through Racefeed.

Image: Foremost Media.

SX2 qualifying:
Terrafirma Honda Racing’s Wilson Todd emerged as the fastest qualifier as racing got under way. The Queenslander’s time of 39.678s was 0.566s faster than his nearest competitor, Nathan Crawford (KTM Racing Team), as Todd’s Terrafirma Honda Racing team-mate and championship leader, Max Anstie, rounded out the top three, just 0.01s behind Crawford. Rhys Budd (Yamalube Yamaha Racing) and Canadian Cole Thompson (Serco Yamaha) would complete the top five positions. NSW’s Jaxon Hadlow (Honda) put in an impressive ride to qualify sixth-fastest, as Jayce Cosford (Yamalube Yamaha Racing), Gage Linville (Honda), Jai Constantinou (Empire Kawasaki) and Jy Roberts (WBR Bulk Nutrients Yamaha) rounded out the top 10.

SX1 qualifying:
Defending Australian Supercross Champion and current SX1 points leader, Justin Brayton, threw down searing final lap to snatch qualifying honours from BBR 102 Motorsports’ Matt Moss. Moss led most of the session, but Honda Genuine Polyflor Honda Racing’s Brayton clocked a 38.758s lap-time after time had expired to leap to the top of the leaderboards as the only racer to break into the 38s. CDR Yamaha Monster Energy Team’s Aaron Tanti qualified third-fastest, ahead of Jackson Richardson (Empire Kawasaki) and Dylan Wills (Husqvarna Racing Team). GasGas Racing Team’s Hayden Mellross finished P6, ahead of Josh Hill (CDR Yamaha Monster Energy Team), who’s filling in for the injured Luke Clout, Kyle Webster (Honda Racing), Cory Watts (Honda) and Dylan Wood (KTM).

SX2 heat one:
KTM Racing Team’s Nathan Crawford jumped to the front of the first SX2 heat and quickly distanced himself from the rest of the field, leading all the way to the checkered flag. Behind him, Honda’s Gage Linville held on for second place over Jy Roberts (WBR Bulk Nutrients Yamaha), as Noah Ferguson (GasGas Racing Team) and new Serco Yamaha recruit, Brad West, filled the remaining top five positions. Jaxon Hadlow (Honda), Caleb Goullet (GasGas) and Ryan Kohlenberg (Yamaha) claimed positions 6-8. Yamalube Yamaha Racing’s Rhys Budd suffered a first-turn crash and remounted to finish a distant ninth.

SX2 heat two:
Husqvarna’s Kaleb Barham scored the holeshot and led the opening laps of the second SX2 heat, but Honda Racing’s Max Anstie moved his way past his team-mate, Wilson Todd, then Barham to take the lead and heat win. Todd finished second, with Serco Yamaha’s Col Thompson completing the top three. Barham and Jayce Cosford (Yamalube Yamaha Racing) finished fourth and fifth, ahead of Empire Kawasaki duo Haruki Yokoyama and Jai Constantinou, Chandler Burns (Honda) and Jack Kitchen (KTM).

SX1 heat one:
BBR 102 Motorsports Matt Moss took the holeshot of the first SX1 heat and looked like he was going to take a convincing win, but a mid-race error saw him drop down the order. Jackson Richardson (Empire Kawasaki) was the man to capitalise and took the heat win, ahead of Kyle Webster (Honda Racing). A late crash by Hayden Mellross (GasGas Racing Team) saw Moss salvage a podium place, as Dylan Wood (KTM) finished fifth. Elijah Wiese (Yamaha) and Brandon Steel (Husqvarna) finished P6 and P7.

SX1 heat two:
Honda Genuine Polyflor Honda Racing’s Justin Brayton stormed to the holeshot of the final heat race of the night, with CDR Yamaha Monster Energy Team’s Aaron Tanti right behind. Brayton would hold his advantage to the finish, while Dylan Wills (Husqvarna Racing Team) put in a determined charge to finish third ahead of Josh Hill (CDR Yamaha Monster Energy Team). Cory Watts (Honda), Mitchell Norris (GasGas), Joel Cigliano (Kawasaki) and Jesse Bishop (Yamaha) finished positions five through eight.

SX2 final:
Honda Racing’s series leader Max Anstie made it two round wins in a row after a thrilling battle with his team-mate Wilson Todd in the SX2 final. Todd surged to the front and led the SX2 field through the first turn, with Noah Ferguson and Anstie close behind. Anstie found his way past the GasGas Racing Team rider, then slowly reeled in Todd, with the pair distancing themselves from the rest of the pack. On the 10th lap Anstie made his move and rode away to the win, with Todd and Ferguson rounding out the podium. Nathan Crawford and Rhys Budd worked their way through the pack from average starts to finish fourth and fifth respectively. P6 through 10 were filled by Jayce Cosford, Cole Thompson (who crashed early in the main) Jaxon Hadlow, Gage Linville and Jai Constantinou.

SX1 final:
Aaron Tanti claimed the SX1 Final victory after holding off a fierce charge from defending champion, Justin Brayton. Matt Moss claimed the holeshot of the SX1 final, but Aaron Tanti quickly passed him for the lead. Justin Brayton also found his way past Moss on the second lap, and desperately tried to reel in the two-second gap that Tanti had rapidly established. Tanti kept pressure on and continued to click off consistent laps, as he went on to claim his first SX1 supercross victory. Brayton continued fighting to the end but settled for second, while Josh Hill put a bad start behind him to finish a hard-fought third, ahead of Moss. Kyle Webster also came through the pack from ninth to round out the top five. Dylan Wills, Hayden Mellross, Jackson Richardson, Dylan Wood and Cory Watts would complete the remaining top 10 positions.