News 29 Oct 2022

Anstie goes back-to-back with Adelaide SX2 victory

Early leader Todd makes it a Honda 1-2 at the series' second round.

Image: Foremost Media.

Honda Racing’s series leader Max Anstie has made it two round wins in a row after a thrilling battle with his team-mate Wilson Todd at the Adelaide round of the 2022 Fox Australian Supercross Championship.

Terrafirma Honda Racing’s Todd surged to the front and led the SX2 field through the first turn, with Noah Ferguson (GasGas Racing Team) and Anstie close behind.

The Englishman found his way past the GasGas rider early on, then slowly began to turn the screws on Todd, as the Honda pairing distanced themselves from the rest of the SX2 field.

After several laps of pressuring Todd, Anstie found an opening on the 10th lap and made his move for the lead. For the remaining five laps he kept charging, eventually finishing with a 3.28s victory over Todd, while Ferguson would round out the podium.

KTM Racing Team’s Nathan Crawford and Yamalube Yamaha’s Rhys Budd both experienced slow starts to the final, but continued to work their ways through the pack to finish fourth and fifth respectively.

Yamalube Yamaha Racing rider Jayce Cosford finished sixth, ahead of Serco Yamaha’s Cole Thompson, who crashed early in the final and recovered well to finish seventh.

NSW privateer Jaxon Hadlow (Honda) wrapped up a solid day with a P8 performance, ahead of Gage Linville (Honda) and Jai Constantinou (Empire Kawasaki).

Anstie leads the championship with 50 points, ahead of Crawford (38 points) and Thompson (36).

Image: Foremost Media.

In the SX3 class, Altherm JCR Yamaha’s Cole Davies claimed the day’s honours with two wins and a fifth-place finish from the class’s three finals.

Husqvarna rider Jack Mather (4-3-2) and KTM pilot Myles Gilmore (3-2-4) rounded out the Adelaide podium in a close-fought battle that came down to countback.

Final race winner, Connor Towill (KTM) finished fourth overall.

The third round of the 2022 Australian Supercross Championship will be held at Newcastle, NSW on 26 November.

Detailed results