News 21 Oct 2022

AUSX qualifying led by Wilson and Todd at Marvel Stadium

Reigning champion Brayton and Clout complete SX1 top-three.

Image: Foremost Media.

Qualifying at the opening round of the 2022 Fox Australian Supercross Championship is complete as Dean Wilson (SX1) and Wilson Todd (SX2) set the benchmark in Melbourne ahead of the night show.

Wilson (Honda Racing) stormed to the top of the timesheets with a 48.141s in the first session to qualify fastest ahead of the heat races.

The number 15 bested teammate and reigning champion Justin Brayton by just 0.072s, as Luke Clout (CDR Yamaha Monster Energy) was third. Stepping back onto a 450 for Australian Supercross, Aaron Tanti (CDR Yamaha Monster Energy) and Matt Moss (BBR 102 Motorsports) qualified P4 and P5 respectively.

Sixth quickest was Hayden Mellross (GasGas Racing Team), ahead of Brett Metcalfe (KTM Racing Team), the returning Jackson Richardson (Empire Kawasaki), Dylan Wills (Husqvarna Racing Team) and Kyle Webster (Honda Racing).

Image: Foremost Media.

Terrafirma Honda Racing’s Todd stopped the clock at 48.783s to qualify fastest in SX2. Honda Racing team teammate Max Anstie was second-quickest, notably trying to quad throughout the session which ended in a heart-in-the-mouth moment when he came up slightly short.

Nonetheless, a 49.086s saw the number 99 runner-up as the Canadian import Cole Thompson (Serco Yamaha) completed the top three courtesy of a 49.310s, ahead of teammate Bailey Malkiewicz (Serco Yamaha) in P4 and Jayce Cosford (Yamalube Yamaha Racing) in fifth.

Positions six to 10 were occupied by Nathan Crawford (KTM Racing Team), Rhys Budd (Yamalube Yamaha Racing), Jai Constantinou (Empire Kawasaki), Noah Ferguson (GasGas Racing Team) and Geran Stapleton (GasGas). Notably, Connor Tierney (Serco Yamaha) crashed heavily on the dragon’s back and brought out the red flag early in the first group’s session.