News 10 Oct 2022

Champions crowned in Wynyard AORC finals

Titles decided as 2022 series draws to a close in Tasmania.

Image: Foremost Media.

The 2022 Yamaha Australian Off-Road Championship (AORC) concluded in Wynyard, with champions crowned at the final rounds of the series in Tasmania.

Taking the E1 title was impressive ShopYamaha Offroad Racing rider Kyron Bacon, who won every round of the series in class en route to championship glory. Bacon was also the top-scoring rider outright for the season.

A third and a second in Wynyard secured Korey McMahon (GasGas) P2 in the championship for the category, as Blake Hollis (ShopYamaha Offroad Racing) completed the rostrum at the conclusion of the series following 4-4 results at rounds 11 and 12. Notably, Cooper Shiedow (KTM) finished second in E1 on Saturday and Jeremy Carpentier (Yamaha JGR Ballard’s Off-Road Team) was third in the class on Sunday.

E2 championship honours went to Josh Green (ShopYamaha Offroad Racing) who took a double victory in Tasmania, ahead of Fraser Higlett (Beta) who went 2-2 in Wynyard. Third in the E2 championship was Travis Silk (KTM), also third in class on Saturday.

Simford Racing Husqvarna’s Andy Wilksch did what he needed to in Tasmania to capture the E3 title, landing consistent 2-2 finishes across the weekend. Jonte Reynders (Motul Pirelli Sherco Team) concluded the series in fine form and claimed the class victory on both days, also second overall in the championship standings.

Luke Bunnick (Sherco) completed the top three in the points standings for the category as Jye Dickson (KTM) was third in E3 for both rounds in Tasmania.

In EW, Jessica Gardiner (Yamaha JGR Ballard’s Off-Road Team) captured a seventh-career championship in the class, also taking victory in Sunday’s final round. Emelie Karlsson (KTM) claimed the win on Saturday and finished P2 in the championship standings ahead of Taylor Thompson.

Securing the EJ title was KTM-rider Riley McGillivray, who notched consistent 2-2 results across rounds 11 and 12. William Dennet did everything he could to close the points deficit, the Yamaha rider winning both rounds in class on the weekend and finishing the year second overall. Husqvarna’s Billy Hargy was third onboth days in Tasmania and completed the series third in EJ.

Detailed results