News 27 Sep 2022

WSX Australian Grand Prix wildcard riders confirmed

Webster, Metcalfe, Crawford and Budd to line up in Melbourne.

Image: Foremost Media.

Wildcard riders have been confirmed for the Australian round of the 2022 FIM World Supercross Championship (WSX) in Melbourne, with Kyle Webster and Brett Metcalfe to ride the 450 class, as Nathan Crawford and Rhys Budd will enter SX2.

Outdoor front-runner Webster is currently in the US as part of a training camp with the Honda Genuine Honda Racing WSX team, which will include Ken Roczen alongside Dean Wilson, Max Anstie and Wilson Todd in the series.

Longtime international Metcalfe will return to the world stage alongside his domestic commitments in Australia, finishing fourth in the national SX1 standings the last time in was held in 2019. The year before he was runner-up to Honda teammate at the time Justin Brayton.

Former MX2 World Championship regular Crawford with the KTM Racing Team and Yamalube Yamaha Racing’s Budd, meanwhile, will form Australia’s local representation in the 250 division, both recognised as two of the top emerging riders in the category.

The 2022 Australian Supercross Championship opener will take place on Friday of the WSX GP weekend at Marvel Stadium, which will be contested from 21-22 October.