News 21 Aug 2022

MX1 title secured by Tanti at Coolum ProMX finals

Overall victory for Todd to conclude national motocross season.

Image: Foremost Media.

It is MX1 championship success for CDR Yamaha Monster Energy’s Aaron Tanti who wrapped up the title in the 2022 Penrite ProMX finals at Coolum, as Wilson Todd secured his first premier class overall victory.

Todd jumped to the holeshot in the first MX1 bout, as Todd Waters (Husqvarna Racing Team) charged past Aaron Tanti (CDR Yamaha Monster Energy), Kirk Gibbs (KTM Racing Team) and Dean Ferris (Honda Racin) to move into second in the opening laps.

The Husqvarna rider then closed within striking distance to make a move on the number 20, but Todd responded and gradually stretched out his advantage at the front to take a 10.7s victory.

Ferris was third, trailed by teammate Kyle Webster for the majority of the second half of the race, with the number 96 seemingly playing the team game and remaining a safe distance.

Behind Webster, Gibbs completed the top five, ahead of Brett Metcalfe (GO24 KTM) and Tanti, who dropped to P7 and maintained that position ahead of Joel Evans (Honda) in eighth. Ricky Latimer (KTM) crossed the line ninth, ahead of Hayden Mellross (GasGas Racing Team) who completed the top 10. 18 points separated Ferris and Tanti entering the final moto.

Webster launched to the front in the final premier class moto, closely followed by Todd. Waters again charged forwards in the opening laps,  passing both Honda riders to take the lead. The number 47 then remained in P1 for the majority of the bout, before Webster regained the top position as the moto approached its closing stages.

Todd put the pressure on Waters shortly after, but fell while trying to make a move on the FC 450 rider. Ultimately, it was Webster who took the chequered flag first, with Waters second and Todd a distant third after remounting.

Gibbs finished his season with P4, ahead of Ferris who concluded his final year in the championship with a fifth-place finish, after falling in the mid-part of the moto. Importantly, sixth for Tanti was enough to claim the MX1 title – an outstanding achievement for the Queensland-based rider in his first season with the CDR Yamaha Monster Energy Team.

P7 was Metcalfe, as Latimer, Evans and Mellross completed the top 10. For the round eight overall, it was Todd who secured the win in just his second race meeting in the premier class, with Waters second courtesy of 2-2 results and Webster taking the final step on the rostrum.

In the 2022 MX1 standings, Tanti finished with a 17-point advantage over Ferris, with Waters’ strong round eight elevating him to P3, 29 points from the title.

Detailed results