News 21 Aug 2022

Coolum Top 10 Shootout sees Todd fastest

Red plate-holder Tanti P3, Ferris fifth ahead of 2022 ProMX finals.

Image: Foremost Media.

Honda Racing’s Wilson Todd put his sheer pace on display once more to secure first gate pick following an intense Top 10 Shootout at Coolum.

Todd emerged fastest courtesy of a 1m42.050s, edging teammate Kyle Webster by just fourth-tenths with the number 96 firing in a 1m42.463s in the closing moments.

Red plate-holder Aaron Tanti (CDR Yamaha Monster Energy) was third , 0.716s from Todd’s benchmark as Kirk Gibbs (KTM Racing Team) – who led the session in the early stages – was fourth, ahead of Honda Racing’s Dean Ferris who completed the top five in what is the final round in his full-time racing career.

Todd Waters (Husqvarna Racing Team) was sixth with a 1m43.213s, ahead of Joel Evans (Honda), Hayden Mellross (GasGas Racing Team), Zachary Watson (Honda) and Hayden Smith (KTM).

The first MX1 moto at the final round of the 2022 Penrite ProMX Championship commences 12:08 pm local time.

Detailed results