News 21 Aug 2022

Back-to-back MX2 overall wins for Crawford at round eight

Minear crowned MX3 champion, Cannon secures ProMX MXW crown.

Image: Foremost Media.

KTM Racing Team’s Nathan Crawford made it back-to-back MX2 overall victories by scoring the round win at Coolum’s Penrite ProMX finals, as Kayden Minear was crowned MX3 champion while Brock Flynn claimed the victory in the category for the day, and Charli Cannon wrapped up the MXW title.

KTM Racing Team’s Nathan Crawford led every lap of the opening MX2 encounter en route to taking his third consecutive moto victory.

Runner-up was impressive Yamaha privateer Jayce Cosford, 12.8s from the KTM rider as Rhys Budd (Yamalube Yamaha Racing) scored important points in P3.

Fastest qualifier Bailey Malkiewicz (Serco Yamaha) was fourth after a recovery from a bad start, as Noah Ferguson (GasGas Racing Team) completed the top five.

Empire Kawasaki’s Jai Constantinou was sixth, as positions seven to 10 were Isaac Ferguson (GasGas), Hugh McKay (WBR Yamaha), Ben Novak (Honda) and Kaleb Barham (Husqvarna).

Notably, Jesse Dobson (Serco Yamaha) dislocated his shoulder in the opening half of the race, while running P2. He came into the pits, seemingly had his shoulder put back into place and resumed the race. He was ultimately black-flagged.

Champion Wilson Todd did not compete in MX2 this weekend, focusing solely on the premier class after securing the title last weekend at Queensland Moto Park.

Crawford grabbed the early lead second MX2 moto and held P1 until approximately eight minutes remaining when he suddenly dropped behind WBR Yamaha’s Levi Rogers.

Rogers maintained the lead to take a breakthrough MX2 victory and build on his podium form from QMP, ultimately crossing the line with a 7.3s advantage ahead of the number 199.

Third was Malkiewicz, ahead of Budd and fast-starting Haruki Yokoyama (Empire Kawasaki). Constantinou finished P6, ahead of Isaac Ferguson (GasGas).

Noah Ferguson (GasGas Racing Team) and Cosford were eighth and ninth, both involved in an opening lap crash. McKay completed the top 10.

Dobson again was running second, before falling and retiring from the race. Looking at the overall, Crawford took the honours, with the podium completed by Malkiewicz and Budd.

Crowned at QMP, Todd won the MX2 championship on 311 points, ahead of Budd on 271 and Malkiewicz on 245.

Image: Foremost Media.

The MX3 title fight went right down to the final race, with Minear ultimately clinching the championship.

The number 66 crashed in the early stages of moto one but importantly recovered to finish P5. Ryan Alexanderson (KTM) was third in the opening race, closing the points gap to 13 entering moto two.

Minear responded to lead throughout the final outing, crossing the line second after a move by Brock Flynn (Husqvarna) who won the race. Alexanderson was fourth in moto two.

Taking the round win at Coolum was Flynn with 50 points, ahead of Myles Gilmore (Yamaha) with 2-3 moto scores and Minear, while the top three in the championship was completed by Alexanderson and Jack Mather (Husqvarna).

Image: Foremost Media.

Yamalube Yamaha Racing’s Cannon wrapped up a perfect MXW season, winning the second moto at Coolum to secure the title.

Second overall at round eight was Taylah McCutcheon (Honda Racing) with 2-2 moto scores, as Madison Brown (Yamaha) completed the rostrum courtesy of 5-3 finishes.

In the 2022 MXW standings, Emma Milesevic (Honda Racing) was runner-up, with Brown P3.

Detailed results