News 20 Aug 2022

Coolum qualifying led by Todd and Malkiewicz

CRF450R rider quickest ahead of Top 10 Shootout tomorrow.

Image: Foremost Media.

It was Honda Racing’s Wilson Todd who set the fastest time in MX1 qualifying today at Coolum, as Bailey Malkiewicz secured first gate pick in MX2 for the final round of the 2022 Penrite ProMX Championship.

Todd fired a 1m42.222s to land two seconds clear of teammate Kyle Webster in P2, as Kirk Gibbs (KTM Racing Team) was third with a 1m44.394s, just 0.135s behind the number 96.

Fourth was Todd Waters (Husqvarna Racing Team), a further six-tenths back, with Dean Ferris (Honda Racing) P5, ahead of title-rival and red plate-holder Aaron Tanti (CDR Yamaha Monster Energy).

GasGas Racing Team’s Hayden Mellross was seventh, with Hayden Smith (KTM), Zachary Watson (Honda) and Joel Evans (Honda) completing the top 10. Notably, Brett Metcalfe was P11 and missed a spot in tomorrow morning’s Top 10 Shootout.

Image: Foremost Media.

Serco Yamaha MX2 contender Malkiewicz posted a 1m44.163s on his second flying lap to storm to the front, as teammate Jesse Dobson was just three-tenths behind, also setting his quickest time on his second flyer as a late charge from GasGas Racing Team’s Noah Ferguson saw the MC 250F rider finish third, 1.4s from the top.

New Zealand’s Hayden Smith (GasGas) impressed in P4, with QMP winner Nathan Crawford (KTM Racing Team) completing the top five.

Sixth was Rhys Budd (Yamalube Yamaha Racing) with positions seven to 10 occupied by Levi Rogers (WBR Yamaha), Isaac Ferguson (GasGas) and Jayce Cosford (Yamaha), who was demoted three positions for jumping under a yellow flag.

Husqvarna rider Brock Flynn (Husqvarna) qualified on top in MX3, ahead of Liam Owens (Husqvarna) and Myles Gilmore (KTM). Notably, Kayden Minear (KTM) and Ryan Alexanderson (KTM) were given three position penalties for jumping on lap one. Minear originally qualified fastest, Alexanderson P2.

In MXW race one Charli Cannon (Yamalube Yamaha Racing) continued her victory streak, charging her way past Taylah McCutcheon (Honda Racing) after getting caught in the gate to take a 15-second win. P2 was a promising return to form for McCutcheon after an injury-plagued season. Honda Racing’s Emma Milesevic held out Meghan Rutledge (Kawasaki) to complete the top three.

Both Vets motos were contested today, with Beau Ralston grabbing the overall victory in 30-39 with 2-1 scores. Second in the category was KTM-mounted Oliver Smith, ahead of Charles Brett. Mike Sleeter (GasGas) took the win in 40-plus with a perfect 50 points, ahead of Ashley Erbacher and Travis Regeling.

Detailed results