News 14 Aug 2022

Todd dominates all Queensland Moto Park qualifying sessions

Honda racer qualifies fastest in both MX1 and MX2 classes.

Image: Foremost Media.

Honda Racing’s Wilson Todd has stunned the ProMX Championship by setting the pace in both the MX1 and MX2 qualifying sessions at the seventh round at Queensland Moto Park.

In his debut appearance on the Honda CRF450R, and fresh off winning the MX2 title just minutes earlier, Todd charged to the fastest lap-time in the MX1 Top 10 Shootout.

Todd’s time of 1m 51.051s was three-quarters of a second faster than CDR Yamaha Monster Energy Team’s championship leader Aaron Tanti, with KTM Racing Team’s Kirk Gibbs a further half-second back.

Honda Racing’s Kyle Webster finished the Shootout in fourth on his return to racing, ahead of Kiwi Hamish Harwood (KTM).

Dean Ferris (Honda Racing), Brett Metcalfe (GO24 Racing), Todd Waters (Husqvarna Racing Team), Hayden Mellross (GasGas Racing Team) and Joel Evans (Honda), completed the top 10 Shootout places.

Earlier in the day, Todd had already topped the timing sheets of the MX2 qualifying session.

A storming last lap time of 2m 04.974s was almost a full second quicker than that of second-placed Rhys Budd’s (Yamalube Yamaha Racing) best lap of 2m 05.9072, as Serco Yamaha pairing Jesse Dobson and Bailey Malkiewicz completed the top four fastest times.

Filling in for the injured Blake Fox, GasGas Racing Team’s new recruit, Noah Ferguson, rounded out the top five.

P6-10 were filled by Nathan Crawford (KTM Racing Team), Levi Rogers (WBR Yamaha Racing), Hugh Mackay (WBR Yamaha Racing), Reid Taylor (KTM) and Kaleb Barham (Husqvarna).

Detailed results