News 14 Aug 2022

Todd crowned MX2 champion as Crawford shines at QMP

Double-moto victory sees a return to form for Nathan Crawford.

Image: Foremost Media.

Terrafirma Equipment Sales Honda Racing’s Wilson Todd wrapped up the 2022 Pirelli MX2 title at Queensland Moto Park, as Nathan Crawford (KTM Racing Team) claimed two moto wins at the penultimate round of the ProMX Championship.

Todd’s fourth-place finish in the opening race was enough to see him crowned the 2022 champion with three races still left to run in the series.

Yamalube Yamaha Racing’s Rhys Budd grabbed the holeshot of the opening MX2 moto, but it was Husqvarna privateer Kaleb Barham who led for the majority of the race.

Late in the moto Crawford capitalised on errors from both Budd and Barham to charge is way into the lead and take the opening victory from Barham and Budd.

Todd started in seventh and calmly made his way forward several positions before settling in for P4 to take a well-deserved championship.

Fifth was claimed by Jace Cosford (Yamaha), ahead of Serco Yamaha’s Bailey Malkiewicz. Isaac Ferguson (GasGas), Jesse Dobson (Serco Yamaha), Jai Constantinou (Empire Kawasaki) and Levi Rogers (WBR Yamaha Racing) filled out the top 10.

Image: Foremost Media.

Crawford got the best jump off the gate in the second MX2 moto, as a multi-rider crash on the start straight affected a number of the championship front-runners.

Rogers and Reid Taylor (KTM) found themselves in the top three through the opening laps as Malkiewicz, Budd and Dobson made quick, desperate passes to work their way P4-6 by the race’s halfway mark.

Crawford slowly extended his lead, as Dobson continued to charge forwards, moving into the top three in the dying stages, then putting a last-lap pass on Rogers to take P2 behind Crawford.

Malkiewicz and Budd completed the top five, as Mackay, Haruki Yokoyama (Empire Kawasaki), Ferguson, Cosford and Taylor rounded out the top 10.

With Todd wrapping up the championship, all eyes are now on the fight for the runner-up positions, as Budd (233 points) leads Dobson (217) and Malkiewicz (207) with one round remaining.

Image: Foremost Media.

In the MX3 class, KTM’s Ryan Alexanderson put in a well-rounded, consistent performance as he claimed both victories and the overall.

Ryley Fitzpatrick (GasGas) finished second overall with a 2-6 performance, while Byron Dennis (GasGas) rounded out the rostrum with a 4-5 scorecard.

KTM’s Kayden Minear still leads the championship by 17 points over Alexanderson.

The final round of the 2022 Penrite ProMX Championship will be held at Coolum, Qld, next weekend.

Detailed results