Features 24 Jul 2022

Racefeed: 2022 ProMX Rd6 Coffs Harbour

Direct updates from round six of the season in NSW.

Follow the 2022 Penrite ProMX Championship with direct MX1 and MX2 updates from round six of the season at Coffs Harbour through Racefeed.

Image: Foremost Media.

MX2 qualifying:
A late charge from Wilson Todd saw the Honda Racing rider storm to the top of a muddy MX2 qualifying at Coffs Harbour and secure first gate pick for round six of the 2022 Penrite ProMX Championship. Serco Yamaha’s Jesse Dobson led for the majority of the session, only to be eclipsed by Todd in the closing stages. Todd’s fastest lap of 1.43.309s was half a second quicker than the number 14, in P2. Third was Bailey Malkiewicz (Serco Yamaha) a further two seconds back, with the returning Nathan Crawford (KTM Racing Team) in fourth as Japanese talent Haruki Yokoyama (Empire Kawasaki) completed the top five. Rhys Budd was sixth ahead of KTM-mounted Reid Taylor, WBR Yamaha fill-in Hugh McKay, Kaleb Barham (Husqvarna) and Levi Rogers (WBR Yamaha).

MX1 qualifying:
BBR 102 Motorsports Yamaha’s Matt Moss continued his strong run of form to set the fastest time in qualifying, ahead of the Top 10 Shootout, narrowly edging Aaron Tanti (CDR Yamaha Monster Energy). Tanti’s effort of a 1m42.635s placed him less than two-tenths shy in P2, and over two seconds clear of Todd Waters (Husqvarna Racing Team) in third. GO24 KTM’s Brett Metcalfe was fourth, ahead of Dean Ferris (Honda Racing) in P5. Notably, Kirk Gibbs (KTM Racing Team), who set the third fastest time in the session was given a three-place penalty for incorrect entry into to the mechanic’s area which regulated him to P6. Seventh was Hayden Mellross (GasGas Racing Team), leading Joel Evans (Honda), Joel Wightman (Yamaha) and Dylan Wood (KTM), who completed the top 10 and earned the final place in the Shootout later this morning.

MX2 moto one:
A clinical performance by Todd saw him take his 10th moto victory of the season in race one. The CRF250R rider methodically worked his way into the lead, passing Yokoyama, Barham and Budd before clearing out to take the victory. Budd finished second after grabbing the holeshot and holding P1 for the opening nine minutes. Yokoyama held off a hard-charging Crawford for the final spot on the podium, with the Queenslander running inside the top three before crashing and having to work his way back from seventh. Fourth, nonetheless, was a strong ride for the number 199 in his racing return. Dobson crossed the line fifth and showed great pace in the middle of the race to recover from a poor start and work his way inside the top three, before struggling in the closing stages. Noah Fergusson (GasGas) worked his way into sixth, ahead of McKay, Barham, Jai Constantinou (Empire Kawasaki) and Malkiewicz who completed the top 10, also suffering a fall during the opening bout.

MX1 Top 10 Shootout:
In a thrilling Top 10 Shootout, Moss delivered a 1m41.086s lap time to narrowly edge Gibbs and secure first gate pick by just 0.060s, with Tanti right in contention, posting a 1m41.433s, three and a half tenths from Moss. Waters qualified P4 courtesy of a 1m42.094s, with Metcalfe completing the top five. Ferris was sixth, leading Mellross, Evans, Wood and Wightman.

MX1 moto one:
Ferris crossed the line to take the moto one honours after a late move on red plate-holder Tanti secured him the victory. It was Ferris who notched another holeshot and led the race for the first 10 minutes, relentlessly pressured by Tanti. Tanti regulated the Honda rider to P2 and then stretched out a slight margin throughout the mid-part of the race. Ferris came back in the closing stages pushed the number nine back to second. Tanti fell shortly after which dropped him back towards the trio of Gibbs, Metcalfe and Waters, fighting for third. Gibbs – who had to work his way forwards from an average start – quickly capitalised on Tanti’s mistake and made a move past the Yamaha rider after he remounted. Metcalfe then passed Tanti on the final lap for third, with the Yamaha rider ultimately fourth, ahead of Waters. P6 was Hayden Mellross, as positions seven – 10 were occupied by Evans, Joben Baldwin (Honda) and Wightman.  Notably, fastest qualifier Moss crashed on lap one and was hit by another rider when remounting. He hurt his hand as a result of the incident and retired from the race.

MX2 moto two:
Todd scored the victory again in moto two, taking the lead in the early moments of the first lap and withstanding a late race surge by Crawford. Determined to make amends for his race one mistake, Crawford delivered a spirited charge in the closing stages capping off a strong comeback to national competition with P2. Yamaha privateer Jayce Cosford delivered a breakout performance to hold third for the majority of the moto and complete the rostrum. Dobson finished a distant fourth, ahead of Rogers, Malkiewicz and Budd who was unable to recover from a poor start, finishing P8 which was just enough to keep the title alive. Noah Ferguson and McKay completed the top 10. Todd’s double victory secured him overall on a perfect 50 points, with Crawford runner-up and Yokoyama P3 on the day. Todd holds a 98-point lead in the title race ahead of Budd, with Dobson third, a further 13 points back.

MX1 moto two:
It was Ferris again who grabbed the holeshot in moto two before Tanti asserted himself at the front of the field in the early stages. The number 111  once more trailed Tanti for a majority of the moto, before making his move in the final third of the race and clearing out to take a 4.1s victory. Tanti finished a quiet second, as Gibbs was third ahead of Mellross who finished a season-best P4. Waters completed the top five, ahead of Jayden Rykers (Empire Kawasaki), just two seconds adrift. Metcalfe was seventh, ahead of Zachary Watson (Honda), Baldwin, and Ricky Latimer (KTM) who completed the top 10. With 50 points Ferris took the overall, ahead of Gibbs on 42 and Tanti with 40. In the MX1 championship standings, Tanti still holds the red plate but Ferris’ double victory sees him second, 29 points from the lead. Waters is third, five points back from Ferris, tied with Metcalfe.