News 24 Jul 2022

Moss edges ahead to qualify fastest at Coffs Harbour

Gibbs and Tanti in close pursuit, less than four-tenths from top.

Image: Foremost Media.

BBR 102 Motorsports Yamaha’s Matt Moss emerged as the fastest qualifier in what was a hotly contested Top 10 Shootout at Coffs Harbour, with the top three separated by less than four-tenths.

Moss continued his strong run of form to set the quickest time in qualifying, ahead of the Top 10 Shootout, narrowly bettering Aaron Tanti (CDR Yamaha Monster Energy).

Tanti’s effort of a 1m42.635s placed him less than two-tenths shy in P2 and over two seconds clear of Todd Waters (Husqvarna Racing Team) in third. GO24 KTM’s Brett Metcalfe was fourth, ahead of Dean Ferris (Honda Racing) in P5.

Notably, Kirk Gibbs (KTM Racing Team), who set the third fastest time in the session, was given a three-place penalty for incorrect entry into to the mechanics area which regulated him to P6. Seventh was Hayden Mellross (GasGas Racing Team), leading Joel Evans (Honda), Joel Wightman (Yamaha) and Dylan Wood (KTM), who completed the top 10 and earned the final place in the Shootout.

In a thrilling Top 10 Shootout, Moss delivered a 1m41.086s lap time to narrowly edge Gibbs and secure first gate pick by just 0.060s, with Tanti right in contention, posting a 1m41.433s which was three and a half tenths from Moss.

Waters qualified P4 courtesy of a 1m42.094s, with Metcalfe completing the top five. Ferris was sixth, leading Mellross, Evans, Wood and Wightman.

Detailed results