News 8 Jul 2022

2022 Australian WJMX team announced

Ross Beaton to manage squad in Finland.

Image: Foremost Media.

The six-rider Team Australia line-up has been announced for the 2022 FIM Junior Motocross Championships (WJMX) in Finland on 26-28 August 2022, including current Penrite ProMX MX3 leader Kayden Minear.

Minear (KTM) has delivered a strong opening five rounds in domestic MX3, highlighted by a double victory at Gillman and enjoys a 23-point lead in the series.

The 15-year-old will be joined by Byron Dennis (GasGas), 15, in class three: 125cc in Finland, Dennis himself showing front running potential multiple times this season in MX3.

Representing Australia in class two, 85cc, are Heath Fisher (Husqvarna) and Jack Deveson (Husqvarna). Fisher is a podium regular at both state and national races, and Deveson started 2022 in the best possible way as he claimed the 85cc 12-U16 Expert win at the Australian Arenacross Series opener at Bacchus Marsh.

Ollie Birkitt and Seth Thomas will line up on 65cc machinery in class one. Birkitt notably was a winner in 2019 KTM Junior Supercross at the AUS-X Open.

The team will be managed by Ross Beaton – owner of professional motocross coaching company Beaton’s Pro Formula and brother to MXGP contender Jed Beaton.

“This team is very balanced”, Beaton said. “We are taking a good group of riders who have been performing consistently. It’s exciting to be able to take this group to Vantaa, see how they perform on the world stage, and hopefully inspire other young riders.”

Finland’s famous motocross city of Vantaa will play host to the championship at Lavanko. Dozens of nations are expected to partake in the 2022 event, with this year being the first time Australia has fielded a team at the event since 2019.