News 12 Jun 2022

Consistent Jett Lawrence secures 250MX overall at Thunder Valley

Honda teammate Roczen claims last-gasp 450MX victory from Tomac.

Image: Octopi Media.

Lucas Oil Pro Motocross series leader Jett Lawrence has claimed his third consecutive 250MX overall with a consistent 2-2 result at the third round at Thunder Valley.

The Team Honda HRC rider finished behind Levi Kitchen (Monster Energy Star Yamaha Racing) and Hunter Lawrence (Team Honda HRC) in both motos to take the overall win.

Rookie Levi Kitchen broke through for his first-ever Pro Motocross victory with a wire-to-wire win in the opening 250MX race.

Kitchen grabbed the holeshot and never looked back as he sailed to a nine-second victory over  Jett Lawrence, who tried to put in a charge early before settling for P2.

Kitchen’s Monster Energy Star Yamaha Racing team-mate, Justin Cooper, finished the race on the podium.

Team Honda HRC’s Hunter Lawrence overcame an average start (he was ninth on the first lap) to cross the line in fourth, ahead of Seth Hammaker (Monster Energy Pro Circuit Kawasaki) and a fast-starting Stilez Robertson (Rockstar Energy Husqvarna).

Jo Shimoda (Monster Energy Pro Circuit Kawasaki) finished seventh, as Nate Thrasher and Nicholas Romano ensured Monster Energy Star Yamaha Racing finished with four riders in the top 10.

P10 was claimed by Matthew Leblanc (Yamaha).

Fastest-qualifier Michael Mosiman (TLD Red Bull GasGas) finished 13th after enduring two crashes during the race.

Hunter Lawrence showed exactly what he can do with a good start after a comfortable five-second win over his little brother, Jett Lawrence in the second 250MX race.

The elder Lawrence scored the holeshot and was never challenged as he clicked off fast, consecutive laps to take his first Pro Motocross victory of 2022.

Jett was able to make a quick pass on Cooper early in the race to secure his third overall of the season with a consistent 2-2 result from the two motos.

Cooper would finish the race in third; despite surrendering that position to Mosiman for a number of laps, the Yamaha rider was able to remount an attack and ensure he finished on the round podium.

First-moto winner, Levi Kitchen, recovered to finish fifth after getting caught in a big early crash that took down Nate Thrasher and Seth Hammaker.

Shimoda, Robertson, Max Vohland (Red Bull KTM), Matt Leblanc and privateer Derek Kelley (KTM) completed the top 10.

In the title hunt, Jett Lawrence retains a 12-point lead over Hunter, with Shimoda a further 16 points behind as the series heads to High Point next weekend.

Image: Octopi Media.

A gutsy performance from Team Honda HRC’s Ken Roczen saw him claim a stunning last-minute 450MX overall victory at the third round of the Lucas Oil Pro Motocross Championship at Thunder Valley, CO.

The opening 450MX moto saw Monster Energy Star Yamaha Racing’s Eli Tomac claim an emphatic come-from-behind win.

Antonio Cairoli (Red Bull KTM) secured the holeshot, but Ken Roczen quickly jumped to the lead and began pulling away, while Tomac found himself in sixth.

Monster Energy Kawasaki’s Jason Anderson made early moves on Cairoli, then Justin Barcia (TLD Red Bull GasGas) to work his way into second, but Roczen had established a five-second buffer.

As the race progressed, Tomac continued to get stronger, pouring the pressure on Barcia for third, then hunting down Anderson.

To the delight of the Colorado fans, Tomac caught and dispatched of Roczen with five laps remaining, then built a comfortable lead that he maintained until the checkered flag.

Anderson finished third ahead of Chase Sexton (Team Honda HRC) and Cairoli. Barcia crossed the line in sixth, with Ryan Dungey (Red Bull KTM) seventh, Joey Savatgy (Monster Energy Kawasaki) eighth and Garrett Marchbanks (Muc-Off FXR ClubMX Yamaha).

Monster Energy Star Yamaha Racing’s Christian Craig recovered from a first-turn crash to finish 10th.

Ken Roczen claimed a stunning win in the second race when his team-mate, Chase Sexton, crashed out of the lead on the final lap.

In a carbon copy of the opening moto, Cairoli again scored the holeshot, but surrendered the lead to Roczen two corners later.

As Roczen began building a lead, Sexton worked his way past Cairoli, then put in some hard laps to catch and pass Roczen.

Eli Tomac worked his way into third and became embroiled in an intense, multi-lap battle for second with Roczen as the clock wound down, but after the two came together and shunted Tomac off his line, the Yamaha rider settled in, content that a 1-3 result would be enough for the overall.

However, on the final lap, Sexton dropped his bike in a rut and allowed Roczen to sail past for a hard-fought win and the overall.

Sexton and Tomac finished on the podium, with Cairoli fourth and Shane McElrath (Rockstar Energy Husqvarna) putting in a good performance for fifth.

P6-10 were filled by Jason Anderson, Ryan Dungey, Justin Barcia, Joey Savatgy and Aaron Plessinger.

Despite his last-lap crash, Sexton remains in control of the 450MX championship, with a five-point lead over Roczen and a nine-point buffer over Tomac as the series heads to High Point next weekend.

Detailed results