News 5 Jun 2022

Consistency key as Waters claims Manjimup 15,000 overall

Moss, Tanti, Metcalfe among the mixture of 2022 moto winners.

Image: Foremost Media.

A consistent effort from Husqvarna’s Todd Waters has seen him claim victory at the 2022 Berry Sweet Manjimup 15,000 in Western Australia.

The opening moto was won by Matt Moss (BBR 102 Motorsports Yamaha) ahead of Aaron Tanti (CDR Yamaha Monster Energy) and Waters, before a wheel fault forced Moss out of the second encounter and overall contention.

That left Brett Metcalfe (GO24 KTM) to go ahead and win moto two from Waters and local Jayden Rykers (Empire Kawasaki), while Tanti endured his toughest outing of the day on the way to salvage eighth position.

Moto three saw Tanti rebound for another win, this time followed by Waters and Metcalfe, which was the same result in the final outing as Tanti again topped Waters and Metcalfe.

That 3-2-2-2 scorecard was enough for Waters to take victory overall – a first for the 2019 national champion at Manjimup – ahead of Tanti and Metcalfe, while for Moss, he managed to capture the win in the Allstars Shootout over Waters and Rykers.

Honda Racing’s Dean Ferris was on track during Friday’s practice sessions, but didn’t compete on Sunday, while former world champion Ben Townley (Yamaha) made a guest appearance with a best result of sixth in moto two.

Of the MX2 riders within the same category, former international Caleb Grothues led the way in all four motos, taking out the overall ahead of Codey Rowe and Dylan Hennessey.

Detailed results