News 10 Apr 2022

Webster and Dobson qualify fastest at Mackay

The fields are set for the second round of the 2022 ProMX Championship.

Image: Foremost Media.

Honda Racing’s Kyle Webster and Serco Yamaha’s Jesse Dobson have signalled their intentions early on at the second round of the 2022 ProMX Championship by qualifying fastest at the Gum Valley, Mackay circuit.

MX1 rookie Webster made a real statement in the Thor MX1Top 10 Shootout with a blistering 1m50.992s lap time.

Webster was the only racer to drop into the 1m50s, as CDR Yamaha Monster Energy Racing’s Aaron Tanti and KTM Racing Team’s Kirk Gibbs claiming the top three positions.

Brett Metcalfe (GO24 Racing) and current points leader Luke Clout (CDR Yamaha Monster Energy Racing) rounded out the top five positions.

Provisional pole-sitter Todd Waters (Husqvarna Racing Team) finished sixth-fastest, ahead of Matt Moss (BBR 102 Motorsports), Hayden Mellross (GasGas Racing team) Dean Ferris (Honda Racing) and Jayden Rykers (Empire Kawasaki).

Image: Foremost Media.

Serco Yamaha racers Jesse Dobson and Bailey Malkiewicz set the bar for the Pirelli MX2 class as qualifying got under way.

Dobson’s time of 1m52.470s was a scorcher as he took pole position ahead of Malkiewicz’s time of 1m53.103s.

The pair were leagues ahead of the MX2 field, as Yamalube Yamaha Racing duo Rhys Budd and Alex Larwood claimed third and fourth position respectively.

Current points’ leader, Wilson Todd (Terrafirm Equipment Sales Honda Racing) rounded out the top five at what is effectively a home race for the North Queenslander.

Noah Ferguson (GasGas), Ryder Kingsford (WBR Yamaha), Tye Jones (Husqvarna) Dylan Wills (Husqvarna Racing Team) and Isaac Ferguson (GasGas) completed the top 10 qualifying spots.

Detailed results