News 4 Apr 2022

Portugal overall for Prado to confirm MXGP title challenge

Opening moto victory sets Vialle up for MX2 round win.

Image: Supplied.

A crucial overall victory for Red Bull GasGas Factory Racing’s Jorge Prado in Portugal brought an end to Team HRC’s Tim Gajser’s winning streak, as Tom Vialle gained valuable points standing on the top step of MX2.

Prado made the most of a strong start in race one to take a slim, one-second victory over Standing Construct Husqvarna Factory Racing’s Brian Bogers, with Gajser moving his way forwards from sixth to finish third.

Gajser bounced back to win the second race, his third in moto one ultimately proving costly as Prado was able to finish second in race two and take the round victory ahead of the Frenchman.

Bogers crossed the line P4 in the second outing which was enough to secure him P3, as Monster Energy Yamaha MXGP’s Glenn Coldenhoff went 4-3 for fourth overall, with Pauls Jonass (Standing Construct Husqvarna Factory Racing) completing the top five courtesy of a 7-5 scorecard.

Notably, it was a challenging round for graduating MX2 world champion Maxime Renaux, the Monster Energy Yamaha MXGP rider falling in each race on route to 11-11 results.

Australia’s Mitch Evans (Team HRC) was P12 overall with 15-12 finishes, as F&H Kawasaki’s Jed Beaton landed 15th for the round thanks to an 18-13 scorecard.

The MXGP championship standings after round four see Gajser remain with the red plate, 21 points ahead of Prado with Renaux another 21 back from the Spaniard.

Image: Supplied.

Vialle (Red Bull KTM Factory Racing) clawed back vital points on red plate-holder Jago Geerts (Monster Energy Yamaha MX2), a race one victory setting him up for the overall while the number 93 was ninth.

Race two saw Geerts on top, which was enough to elevate him to P3 overall after a difficult first outing, behind Mikkel Haarup (Big Van World MTX Kawasaki) who impressed to finish second overall with 2-4 finishes.

Geerts still leads the MX2 standings with a 16 point advantage over Vialle, with Haarup elevating himself to third a further 26 back.

In round two of the MXW World Championship, Lynn Valk (Yamaha) took control of the championship lead thanks to a perfect 1-1 scorecard at Agueda.

Yamaha mounted round one winner Nancy Van De Ven was second overall thanks to a 2-2 scorecard, as Larissa Papenmeier completed the podium with 3-4 results.

Australian Tahlia Jade O’Hare impressed with a P5 in moto two, and was seventh overall after finishing 12th in the opening race.

Detailed results