News 28 Feb 2022

Early red plate for Gajser following British MXGP win

Langenfelder breaks through for MX2 double at Matterley Basin.

Image: Supplied.

Team HRC’s Tim Gajser has taken early control of the MXGP red plate following the opening round of 2022 at Matterley Basin, the race one victory setting him up for the overall win as Simon Langenfelder emerged on top in MX2.

Gajser charged his way through to victory in moto one, only to crash while in the lead of the second outing and remount, but unable to pass Jorge Prado (Red Bull GasGas) for the win as the Spaniard went 4-1 for second overall.

Jeremy Seewer (Monster Energy Yamaha MXGP) enjoyed a strong start to his campaign, 2-4 results after leading the majority of the opening moto. Completing the top five were Seewer’s teammates, MXGP rookie Maxime Renaux – who qualified fastest on Saturday – securing fourth overall with 3-6 results and Glenn Coldenhoff, who went 9-3 for P5.

Australian Jed Beaton (F&H Kawasaki) finished a noteworthy sixth overall on his MXGP debut, scoring a fifth in moto one, before a seventh in the second encounter, as Mitch Evans (Team HRC) made his return in 20th position.

Last year’s number one and two, Jefferey Herlings (Red Bull KTM) and Romain Febvre (Monster Energy Kawasaki), did not compete at the event as they continue to recover from injuries sustained in the pre-season.

Image: Supplied.

Red Bull GasGas sensation Langenfelder broke through in MX2 to claim a career-first overall win in the category, two impressive yet measured performances seeing the German leave round one with the red plate.

In the runner-up position was Jago Geerts (Monster Energy Yamaha MX2), recovering to fourth after a crash in race one, before finishing a stronger second in the final moto.

Title favourite Tom Vialle (Red Bull KTM) completed the podium, finishing P2 in the opening outing before a fall limited his charge in moto two, ultimately crossing the line in third.

Rounding out the top five for the weekend were Nestaan Husqvarna Factory Racing duo Kay de Wolf and new team signing Roan Van De Moosdijk, as the championship now heads to Mantova, Italy on 6 March for round two.

Detailed results