News 15 Jan 2022

Sunderland secures GasGas’ first Dakar crown

Australia's Price P2 on final stage for 10th overall.

Image: Supplied.

At the conclusion of 12 challenging stages, Sam Sunderland has won the 2022 Dakar Rally, securing GasGas its first-ever victory in the prestigious event.

Entering the final stage with an over six-minute advantage ahead of Pablo Quintanilla (Monster Energy Honda Team), the GasGas Factory Racing rider finished eighth on day 12 to bring home the title.

Quintanilla ultimately finished the rally in P2, closing the gap to under four minutes at the conclusion of the final stage, as Red Bull KTM Factory Racing’s Matthias Walkner completed the overall podium in third.

Toby Price (Red Bull KTM Factory Racing) completed the rally in 10th after finishing second on day 12, the two-time event winner suffering early with a navigation issue on stage one, however, a highlight was in stage 10 where he was fastest.

Although Daniel Sanders (GasGas Factory Racing) could not complete the Dakar after a crash on stage seven resulted in a fractured elbow and wrist, the promising Australian claimed two stage victories and will be back at the event in 2023, a real threat for the overall victory.

Of other Australians competing at the event, Andrew Houlihan successfully completed six stages of the rally before being ruled out due to a rib injury.

Detailed results