News 1 Jun 2021

Manjimup line-up strengthened by Moss, Metcalfe and Tanti

Fan-favourite Richardson and MX1 privateer Lamb added to All-Stars entry list.

Image: Foremost Media.

The 2021 Berry Sweet Manjimup 15,000 line-up has been further strengthened with the additions of former winner Matt Moss (Yamaha), Brett Metcalfe (Honda Racing) and Aaron Tanti (GasGas Racing Team), along with fan-favourite Jackson Richardson (GasGas) and MX1 privateer Jay Lamb (Yamaha).

The confirmation of these riders comes after concern for the prestigious Western Australian event amid the growing outbreak of Covid-19 that locked down Victoria and saw WA impose a hard border with the state, however it managed to escape with only a minor impact being the withdrawal of Hayden Mellross (CDR Yamaha Monster Energy).

The late additions will see every major manufacturer represented with factory riders, with Regan Duffy (KTM Racing Team), Todd Waters (Husqvarna Racing Team), Luke Clout (CDR Yamaha Monster Energy), Jayden Rykers (Empire Kawasaki) and Connor Tierney (SB Motorsports) already confirmed.

The event, which was cancelled in 2020 due to the pandemic, has drawn one of its strongest line-ups of national-calibre riders in 2021, which will see the majority of top 10 riders in ProMX on the grid.

“Matt Moss was coming before I even knew it [laughs],” promotor Willie Thomson said to “It’s good, because last year I thought ‘why don’t we get Mossy back?’, but I think he still had five weeks left on his suspension. I’m glad he’s coming – he’s really excited.

“[Brett] Metcalfe is also coming – he really wants to do it. I think his dad is driving over with his bike. Metcalfe is a late inclusion, and now we have a factory Honda rider, which is really good.”

The Manjimup 15,000 will take place this weekend, with an optional practice to be staged on Friday followed by junior and senior racing on Saturday and Sunday respectively.