News 11 Apr 2021

Duffy and Webster qualify fastest at Wonthaggi

2021 ProMX Championship title contenders take to the track at Wonthaggi.

Image: Marc Jones Photography

Regan Duffy (KTM Racing Team) and Kyle Webster (Delcon Civil Honda)  have set the fastest lap times at the opening round of the 2021 Penrite ProMX Championship at Wonthaggi today.

MX1 rookie Regan Duffy has thrown down the challenge to the rest of the field after setting a qualifying time that was 1.1 seconds faster than second-placed Luke Clout (CDR Yamaha Monster Energy Team).

As the rain came down for the Top 10 shootout, Duffy stormed to the top of the charts halfway through the session.

Mongrel Boots Honda veteran Brett Metcalfe finished third, followed by Kirk Gibbs (Terrafirma Equipment Sales Honda) and Maximus Purvis (WBR Bulk Nutrients Racing).

Husqvarna Racing Team’s defending champion Todd Waters finished sixth despite a tumble during the shootout, followed by Hayden Mellross (CDR Yamaha Monster Energy), Matt Moss (BBR 102 Motorsports), Connor Tierney (SB Motorsports), and Jake Moss (BBR 102 Motorsports).

Image: Marc Jones photography

Kyle Webster set the early tone in the MX2 class, with a 1:39.432 lap time that was more than two-and-a-half seconds quicker than second placed Alex Larwood (WBR Yamaha Bulk Nurients Racing).

Webster was near the top of the time sheets all session, but set his fastest lap on the sixth lap.

Serco Yamaha’s Jesse Dobson qualified third-fastest, followed by Yamalube Yamaha Racing’s new recruit Rhys Budd. Jai Constantinou (Husqvarna) finished with the fifth pick of the gate for the first MX2 race.

Nathan Crawford (Serco Yamaha) finished the session in sixth, followed by Noah Ferguson (Gas Gas), Isaac Ferguson (Gas Gas), Hugh McKay (Yamaha) and Levi Rogers (Yamaha).

Detailed results