News 7 Mar 2021

Tomac ties record with fifth victory at Daytona Supercross

Breakout win hands Pro Circuit Kawasaki's McAdoo 250SX West lead.

Image: Octopi Media.

A controlled Eli Tomac has won a fifth Daytona Supercross in a ride that could potentially turn his Monster Energy Supercross title defence around for season 2021, as Cameron McAdoo broke through in 250SX West.

Tomac holeshot the 450SX main event and went wire-to-wire from there, powering to an eventual 3.856s victory to match Ricky Carmichael on all-time wins at the famed speedway.

While it was all Tomac at the front with Monster Energy Kawasaki, Cooper Webb (Red Bull KTM) snatched second from a resurgent Aaron Plessinger (Monster Energy Star Racing Yamaha) in the final turns of the main event – another relentless effort from the 2019 champion.

Webb’s runner-up result enabled him to close further on red plate-holder Ken Roczen (Team Honda HRC) in the standings, the difference now only two points at halfway in the 17-round series.

It was a mixed outing for Roczen, pressuring Webb for the podium mid-race until he made an error and lost position to Malcolm Stewart (Monster Energy Star Racing Yamaha), then working his way back by Stewart and again onto Webb by the final lap, but it wasn’t to be. He crossed the finish in P4.

Stewart had to settle for fifth in the end, comfortably ahead of Justin Barcia (TLD Red Bull GasGas), who in turn led Jason Anderson (Rockstar Energy Husqvarna), Chase Sexton (Team Honda HRC) on return, Justin Bogle (Rocky Mountain ATV/MC KTM WPS) and Dean Wilson (Rockstar Energy Husqvarna).

In the 2021 Monster Energy Supercross championship standings it’s still Roczen who holds the points-lead, two ahead of Webb, with Tomac still within reach at 24 points in arrears following his win.

Image: Octopi Media.

A first-career 250SX West victory in the Daytona stop of 2021 Monster Energy Supercross has handed McAdoo the championship points-lead.

On a night where red plate-holder Justin Cooper (Monster Energy Star Racing Yamaha) was forced to fight through the pack to salvage fourth position, McAdoo starred on his way to the breakout result.

It was Stilez Robertson (Rockstar Energy Husqvarna) who led more than half distance in an impressive effort from the rookie, until McAdoo made his way to the front in the closing stages. That’s how it would remain, McAdoo winning by 3.653ss from Robertson and Pierce Brown (TLD Red Bull GasGas).

Brown was exceptional in his return to competition and on debut with the Troy Lee Designs team, managing to keep a charging Cooper at bay in the closing laps to hold onto the final podium spot, as last year’s victor Garrett Marchbanks (ClubMX Yamaha) put in a gritty effort for fifth.

Position six was also hard-earned for other heat race winner Hunter Lawrence (Team Honda HRC) after going down in the sand section early on, while a fast-starting Alex Martin (Manluk Rock River Yamaha Merge Racing) crossed the line in an eventual seventh.

The final places inside the top 10 belonged to Jalek Swoll (Rockstar Energy Husqvarna), Coty Schock (FXR Chaparral Honda) after he was in podium contention throughout the final and Jordon Smith (Monster Energy Pro Circuit Kawasaki), despite a fall in the afternoon.

It’s now McAdoo who leads the 250SX West standings by four points over Cooper, with round 10 of the 2021 Monster Energy Supercross championship heading to Arlington, Texas, next Saturday, 13 March.

Detailed Results