News 9 Mar 2020

Herlings edges Gajser for Valkenswaard MXGP victory

Red Bull KTM's Vialle claims top honours in the MX2 class.

Image: Supplied.

Jeffrey Herlings (Red Bull KTM Factory Racing) has claimed victory on countback at the MXGP of the Netherlands after equalling on points with reigning champion Tim Gajser (Team HRC).

Victory in the second moto is ultimately what granted former champion Herlings the win at Valkenswaard, while he was runner-up to Gajser in the opening encounter.

Rockstar Energy Husqvarna Factory Racing’s Arminas Jasikonis was highly-impressive to close out the podium in third, while Antonio Cairoli (Red Bull KTM Factory Racing) and Jeremy van Horebeek (Team Honda SR Motoblouz) were fourth and fifth respectively.

Australian Mitch Evans (Team HRC) suffered a devastating injury blow, dislocating his shoulder in a multi-rider incident during lap one of moto one.

In the MX2 category, Red Bull KTM Factory Racing’s Tom Vialle stormed to victory with a 2-1 scorecard, joined on the podium by SM Action M.C Migliori – J1 Racing’s Maxime Renaux and Jago Geerts (Monster Energy Yamaha Factory Racing).

Australian Jed Beaton (Rockstar Energy Husqvarna Factory Racing) was snubbed for a podium for the second-straight weekend, winding up fourth with 6-2 scorecard, as Ben Watson (Monster Energy Yamaha Factory Racing) was fifth.

Australians Nathan Crawford (Team Honda 114 Motorsports) and Bailey Malkiewicz (Team Honda 114 Motorsports) were 12th and 17th overall, while compatriot Wilson Todd (DRT Kawasaki) suffered a nasty injury in a heavy fall.

The MXW category saw Larissa Papenmeier (Yamaha) emerge victorious over Kiara Fontanesi (KTM) and Nancy Van De Ven (Yamaha), while Australians Tahlia O’Hare (KTM) and Hannah Bagnall (Honda) finished 11th and 38th overall.

Detailed results