News 23 Feb 2020

Tomac extends in Texas with 450SX Triple Crown overall

250SX East points tied following Sexton victory in Arlington.

Image: Octopi Media.

Monster Energy Kawasaki’s Eli Tomac has extended his advantage in the 2020 Monster Energy Supercross championship by winning the Arlington Triple Crown tonight in Texas.

Despite Jason Anderson (Rockstar Energy Husqvarna) and Cooper Webb (Red Bull KTM) jumping out front early in final one, Ken Roczen (Team Honda HRC) stormed to the front almost immediately.

Roczen went on to win by 3.971s over Webb and Anderson in that order. Justin Barcia (Monster Energy Yamaha) and Tomac – recovering from 13th on lap one – filled the top five.

Rocky Mountain KTM WPS’s Blake Baggett took the holeshot in final two, however, an improved start from Tomac saw him shoot straight into the lead. He would go on to win with a 3.295s buffer over Anderson and top qualifier Justin Hill (Smartop Bullfrog Spas MotoConcepts Honda).

Behind the leading trio was Zach Osborne (Rockstar Energy Husqvarna) and Barcia, but all attention as set upon defending champion Webb after he crashed heavily in the final stages and was transferred to the Alpinestars Medical Unit.

A final three thriller saw an improved Osborne take the holeshot, before Anderson took his turn at the front for a number of laps until a determined Tomac sliced his way to the front with just minutes remaining. He took the chequered flag by 3.932s.

Behind him, a late mistake in the whoops from Anderson handed Roczen second and Osborne P3. Barcia crossed the line fourth, with Anderson remounting to salvage fifth. Overall, Tomac topped the Triple Crown tally from Roczen and Anderson.

Australian Chad Reed (Mountain Motorsports cbdMD CR22 Honda) was 13th overall via 14-12-16 finishes. Tomac’s advantage in the Monster Energy Supercross point-standings now sitting at seven ahead of Roczen, with Webb remaining in third position.

Image: Octopi Media.

Defending 250SX East champion Chase Sexton stood atop the podium tonight in Arlington’s Triple Crown round to draw level in the 2020 championship standings.

Monster Energy Supercross hosted its second Triple Crown round of the year, with Sexton winning the overall ahead of Shane McElrath (Monster Energy Star Yamaha) and RJ Hampshire (Rockstar Energy Husqvarna).

Hampshire won the opening final of the night, leading the early laps, being passed by Sexton and then taking him down as he countered for position. It wasn’t enough to deter the number one plate-holder.

From there Hampshire would go on to win by 3.245s over Sexton and McElrath, who rebounded from a slow start for third. Jordon Smith (Monster Energy Pro Circuit Kawasaki) and Jeremy Martin (Geico Honda) filled the top five.

In final two it was an easy win for Sexton, 9.252s over McElrath, who made his way by rookie Joey Crown (Yamaha) in the latter stages. Martin and Garrett Marchbanks (Monster Energy Pro Circuit Kawasaki) also made late moves on Crown.

McElrath managed to get out front early in final three and won by 4.214s, but the runner-up was enough for Sexton to seal the overall. Third was strong for Hampshire, salvaging a round podium, followed by Martin and Marchbanks.

The Triple Crown round belonged to Sexton, just one marker clear of red plate-holder McElrath with Hampshire completing the podium. In the standings it’s McElrath and Sexton tied entering Atlanta next Saturday, 29 February.

Detailed results