News 19 Oct 2019

Defending SX1 champion Brayton soars to Port Adelaide win

Podium sees Clout able to turn the tables on Yamaha teammate Reardon.

Image: Foremost Media.

Triple Australian supercross champion Justin Brayton delivered another commanding ride for Penrite Honda Racing to win the SX1 main event at Port Adelaide tonight.

Brayton worked his way into the lead on the opening lap and sprinted ahead from there in what was the only traditional format final of the 2019 season.

In the end the American lit the candles with a 9.757s advantage from Luke Clout (CDR Yamaha Monster Energy), who managed to turn the tables on teammate Dan Reardon in South Australia. Local Brett Metcalfe (Penrite Honda Racing) rode to fourth position.

SX1 newcomer Richie Evans (Yamalube Yamaha Racing) showed he belongs in the class by recording fifth place, ahead of Honda-mounted privateer Joel Wightman in a solid P6.

Next best was Jesse Dobson (Husqvarna), while national champion Todd Waters (DPH Motorsport Husqvarna) made a late move on Jackson Richardson (Rockstar Energy Honda), as Dylan Long (Empire Kawasaki) completed the top 10.

In the championship standings following two of five rounds, Brayton now leads by eight points over Clout and Reardon, with the series set to continue at Wollongong’s WIN Stadium in New South Wales on Saturday, 9 November.

Detailed results