News 1 Oct 2019

AJMX reaches halfway at Gillman as heats and finals continue

Australia's top junior riders put on a show during day three.

Image: Foremost Media.

Day three of the 2019 KTM Australian Junior Motocross Championship (AJMX) marked the halfway point as heats and finals continued to unfold at Gillman in South Australia.

Local favourite Alex Larwood maintained his dominance in the second final of the Junior Lites 15 Years class, securing victory by over 19 seconds ahead of Blake Fox and Cameron Torpy.

Larwood once again earned top honours in finals two and three in the 125cc 15 Years category, edging out Fox and Cody Chittick in the first outing of the day, before defeating Fox and Levi Rogers in race three.

Jack Mather emerged victorious in final three of the Junior Lites 13-U15 Years class, beating Brad West and Jackson Camilleri, while heat three of the 125cc 13-U15 Years division was taken out by Jett Burgess-Stevens over Liam Atkinson and Ryan Alexanderson. Heat four went the way of Zachary Watson followed by Hunter Collins and Brock Flynn.

Hunter Collins captured victory in the second final of the Mini Lites BW 14-U16 Years class ahead of Ben Novak and Camilleri, while Collins picked up the win again in final three over Novak and Watson.

Ryder Kingsford was the one the beat in heat three of the Mini Lites BW 12-U14 Years division as he defeated Seth Burchell and Dylan Walsh, while heat four went to Connor Towill over Burgess-Stevens and Byron Dennis. In heat five, Burchell topped the outing followed by Brenton Wilson and Dennis, as heat six was saw the top three completed by Towill, Burgess-Stevens and Kobe Drew.

Heat five of the Mini Lites SW 9-U12 Years division saw Kayden Minear lift top honours alongside Jack Deveson and Jason West, while heat six went to Jet Alsop followed by Liam Owens and Koby Hantis.

Charli Cannon reigned supreme over Madison Healy and Taylah McCutcheon in the third final of the Junior Lites 13-U16 Years Girls class, while the Mini Lites BW 12-U16 Years division raced finals two and three – the second going to Cannon ahead of McCutcheon and Taylor Thompson, with the third once again going to Cannon over Thompson and McCutcheon.

Ky Woods claimed victory in the 65cc 10-U12 Years class, as Cooper Downing and Cooper Ford were victorious in heats five and six in the 65cc 7-U10 Years category. Mason Brown won final two in the 50cc Division 2 7-U9 Years class. Racing resumes tomorrow as all classes commence finals.

Detailed results