News 30 Sep 2019

Netherlands clinches first MXoN victory at rain-soaked Assen

Luckless Australian team finishes 15th overall following promising Sunday.

Image: Supplied.

The Netherlands has won the 2019 Monster Energy FIM Motocross of Nations (MXoN) in treacherous conditions as Assen, Sunday dominated by the home team led by Glenn Coldenhoff, Jeffrey Herlings and Calvin Vlaanderen.

It was a disappointing race-day for Team Australia in finishing 15th, despite all three riders – Dean Ferris (MXGP), Kyle Webster (MX2) and Regan Duffy (Open) – displaying convincing pace across the trio of rain-affected motos.

Moto one (MXGP and MX2) was topped by reigning MXGP world champion Tim Gajser, fending off a fast-finishing Herlings across the line, with current MX2 champion Jorge Prado third in his first 450 appearance. Australians Ferris and Webster were 15th and 23rd, the latter dropping down the order after being caught in the mud mid-race.

The second moto (MX2 and Open) saw Coldenhoff charge to victory over Pauls Jonass and Shaun Simpson, while Duffy put in a major effort to take 11th and Webster finished 14th to conclude his first-career MXoN.

Finally, moto three (MXGP and Open) was the decider with Netherlands in the box-seat to wrap up the Nations, which is exactly what they did as Coldenhoff stormed to the win and Herlings managed fourth after going down on multiple occasions. Duffy and Ferris both encountered bike problems, ending Australia’s hopes of a top five.

It was the Netherlands team that reigned supreme in the sand as expected, joined on the podium by a resurgent Belgian effort featuring Jeremy Van Horebeek, Jago Geerts and Kevin Strijbos, while the British team of enduro regular Nathan Watson, Adam Sterry and Simpson completed the rostrum.

The MXGP class was won by Gajser ahead of Herlings and Jeremy Seewer with Ferris ranked 13th, MX2 saw Thomas Kjer Olsen win from Vlaanderen and Alvin Östlund as Webster was credited seventh, while it was Coldenhoff perfect in Open over Jonass and Simpson plus Duffy sealed 10th.

Detailed results