News 15 Sep 2019

E1 AORC title goes to Styke while Sanders and Milner win Hedley finals

Gardiner and Bacon earns Women's and EJ titles in Victoria.

Image: John Pearson.

Active8 Yamaha Yamalube Racing’s Luke Styke has been crowned the E1 champion at Hedley’s 11th and final round of the 2019 Yamaha Australian Off-Road Championship (AORC), as champions Daniel Sanders (Husqvarna Enduro Racing Team) and Daniel Milner (KTM Enduro Racing Team) picked up class wins.

Sanders returned to the top spot in the unofficial outright classification, forcing Milner to accept second over Josh Green (Active8 Yamaha Yamalube Racing).

In the E3 division, Sanders, who won the title in South Australia two weeks ago, became undefeated in the category as he won ahead of Andy Wilksch (Motul Pirelli Sherco Racing Team) and Tom Mason (KTM). Jesse Lawton (Husqvarna) and Matt Murry (Kawasaki Castrol Off Road Team) were fourth and fifth respectively.

Milner also became undefeated in the E2 class after being crowned champion in yesterday’s penultimate round, comfortably defeating Green, followed by Stefan Granquist (Yamaha), Jeremy Carpentier (Yamaha MX Store Ballards Off-Road Team) and Matthew Phillips (KTM).

Styke emerged victorious to clinch the E1 title, edging out teammate Michael Driscoll (Active8 Yamaha Yamalube Racing) for the top spot. Lyndon Snodgrass (KTM Enduro Racing Team) was third ahead of Fraser Higlett (Husqvarna Enduro Racing Team) and Lachlan Allan (Kawasaki Castrol Off-Road Team).

In the Women’s category, Jessica Gardiner (Yamaha MX Store Ballards Off-Road Team) claimed a record fifth title, as Kyron Bacon (KTM) lifted the EJ title.

Detailed results