News 1 Sep 2019

Sanders earns E3 crown as Milner and Styke pick up Coonalpyn wins

Milesevic and Bacon secure Women's and EJ victories in Sunday's ninth round.

Image: John Pearson.

Husqvarna Enduro Racing Team’s Daniel Sanders has been crowned champion of the E3 category in the 2019 Yamaha Australian Off-Road Championship (AORC) at Coonalpyn in South Australia, picking up victory during round nine alongside class winners Daniel Milner (KTM Enduro Racing Team) and Luke Styke (Active8 Yamaha Yamalube Racing).

For the second day running, Sanders topped the unofficial outright times with a commanding performance, where he was also joined by Milner and Styke.

Sanders continued his dominant winning streak in the E3 division, which granted him the title with two rounds still to be run. Andy Wilksch (Motul Pirelli Sherco Team) was second followed by Alex Bolton (KTM), Jesse Lawton (Husqvarna) and Matt Murry (Kawasaki Castrol Off-Road Team).

Milner inched closer to the E2 crown, securing victory over Josh Green (Active8 Yamaha Yamalube Racing) and Jeremy Carpentier (Yamaha MX Store Ballards Off-Road Team). Former multi-time world champion Matt Phillips (KTM) was fourth ahead of Riley Graham (Yamaha).

Styke picked up his second-consecutive E3 victory while also making strides towards successfully defending his title, he shared the podium with Lyndon Snodgrass (KTM Enduro Racing Team) and Fraser Higlett (Husqvarna Enduro Racing Team). Michael Driscoll (Active8 Yamaha Yamalube Racing) and Lachlan Allan (Kawasaki Castrol Off-Road Team) were fourth and fifth respectively.

Emma Milesevic (Honda) and Kyron Bacon (KTM) were victorious in the Women’s and EJ classes. The AORC now heads to Hedley in Victoria for the final two rounds of the series on 14-15 September.

Detailed results