News 30 Aug 2019

Team Australia confirmed for Assen’s Motocross of Nations

Australian 2019 squad to be represented by Ferris, Webster and Evans.

Image: Supplied.

Motorcycling Australia has revealed the squad that will represent the country at Assen’s 2019 Monster Energy FIM Motocross of Nations (MXoN) in The Netherlands.

The team will be led by triple Australian motocross champion Dean Ferris (Recover8 Raceline KTM) and MX2 World Championship regular Mitch Evans (Team Honda 114 Motorsports) in the MXGP and Open classes, while current MX Nationals MX2 runner-up Kyle Webster (Penrite Pirelli CRF Honda Racing) will complete the squad in the MX2 category.

Ferris, a former MXGP regular who contested the opening half of the Lucas Oil AMA Pro Motocross Championship this year with Monster Energy Yamaha Factory Racing, enters the MXoN as the most experienced rider on the team, having represented Australia on numerous occasions.

The 2019 edition will mark Evans’ third MXoN appearance and his second in as many years, last year charging to seventh overall in the Open division.

Following Hunter Lawrence’s (Geico Honda) season-ending knee injury and Jed Beaton (Rockstar Energy Husqvarna Factory Racing) sitting out the event, Webster has been granted the rare opportunity to represent the nation in MX2 as one of the country’s most elite sand riders. The event is scheduled for 28-29 September.