News 26 Aug 2019

Prado crowned 2019 MX2 world champion in Sweden

Coldenhoff and Vialle capture MXGP and MX2 overall victories.

Image: Supplied.

Red Bull KTM Factory Racing’s Jorge Prado has captured back-to-back MX2 World Championships following the weekend’s MXGP of Sweden at Uddevalla, while Glenn Coldenhoff (Standing Construct KTM) and Tom Vialle (Red Bull KTM Factory Racing) reigned supreme on the day in their respective categories.

For the second consecutive round, Coldenhoff rode to the top of the podium with an excellent 1-2 scorecard, edging out newly-crowned 2019 MXGP champion Tim Gajser (Honda HRC).

Pauls Jonass (Rockstar Energy Husqvarna Factory Racing) stepped onto the podium in third, followed by Jeremy Seewer (Monster Energy Yamaha Factory Racing) and Jeremy van Horebeek (Honda).

In the MX2 category, Vialle broke Prado’s winning streak with a pair of second place finishes, granting him the first overall victory of his career. Team Honda HRC’s Calvin Vlaanderen was runner-up ahead of dual champion Prado.

The top five was rounded out by Adam Sterry (F&H Kawasaki) and SM Action Yamaha’s Maxime Renaux, as Australian Mitch Evans (Team Honda 114 Motorsport) rebounded for a strong seventh overall placing.

The MXGP World Championship now heads to Afyonkarahisar in Turkey on 8 September for the penultimate round of the series.

Detailed results