News 25 Aug 2019

Tomac wins Ironman as Cianciarulo earns 250MX crown

Ferrandis captures overall victory in the 250MX category.

Image: Supplied.

Recently-crowned three-time Lucas Oil AMA Pro Motocross champion Eli Tomac (Monster Energy Kawasaki) captured victory at Ironman’s season finale, while Adam Cianciarulo (Pro Circuit Monster Energy Kawasaki) earned his maiden 250MX title.

Tomac lodged a stellar 3-1 scorecard to narrowly edge out Ken Roczen (Team Honda HRC) for the overall win, while Zach Osborne (Rockstar Energy Husqvarna Factory Racing) locked out the top three.

Joey Savatgy completed his last race with Monster Energy Kawasaki with an excellent fourth ahead of Justin Barcia (Monster Energy Yamaha), as race one winner Marvin Musquin (Red Bull KTM Factory Racing) was ninth overall after a DNF in race two.

The 250MX class saw Dylan Ferrandis (Monster Energy Yamalube Yamaha Star Racing) dominate with a 1-1 results sheet, beating home teammate Justin Cooper and newly-crowned champion Cianciarulo, who earned the title following moto one.

Chase Sexton (Geico Honda) was fourth followed by Michael Mosiman (Rockstar Energy Husqvarna Factory Racing), as Australian Jett Lawrence (Amsoil Factory Connection Honda) was 13th overall.

Detailed results