News 19 Aug 2019

Tomac earns third consecutive Pro Motocross title at Budds Creek

McElrath breaks through for 250MX overall victory at the penultimate round.

Image: Supplied.

Monster Energy Kawasaki’s Eli Tomac has earned his third consecutive Lucas Oil AMA Pro Motocross Championship with a dominant victory at Budds Creek’s penultimate round of the series.

The newly-crowned champion rode to a commanding 1-1 scorecard at the 11th round, stretching his points lead out to a title-winning 50-point margin.

The podium was completed by Jason Anderson (Rockstar Energy Husqvarna Factory Racing) in second and Marvin Musquin (Red Bull KTM Factory Racing) in third, while top five was locked out by Ken Roczen (Team Honda HRC) and Zach Osborne (Rockstar Energy Husqvarna Factory Racing).

In the 250MX category, Shane McElrath (TLD Red Bull KTM) broke through for victory with a commanding 1-1 performance, he was joined on the podium by points leader Adam Cianciarulo (Monster Energy Pro Circuit Kawasaki) and Justin Cooper (Monster Energy Yamalube Yamaha Star Racing).

Dylan Ferrandis (Monster Energy Yamalube Yamaha Star Racing) and RJ Hampshire (Geico Honda) were fourth and fifth respectively, while Australians – and brothers – Hunter Lawrence (Geico Honda) and Jett Lawrence (Amsoil Factory Connection Honda) finished 12th and 26th overall – the latter pulling in prior to the chequered flag in order to maintain amateur status.

The Pro Motocross championship wraps up this weekend at Ironman, marking the conclusion of a thrilling 12-round season.

Detailed results