News 19 Aug 2019

Gajser crowned MXGP champion as Coldenhoff wins at Imola

Prado continues winning streak with dominant MX2 victory.

Images: Supplied.

Honda’s HRC’s Tim Gajser has been crowned the 2019 MXGP world champion at Imola’s 15th round of the series, while Glenn Coldenhoff (Standing Construct KTM) claimed his first overall victory of the season.

The Italian stop saw Coldenhoff put on a commanding display of riding, capturing a pair of dominant victories to score top honours ahead of Jeremy Seewer (Monster Energy Yamaha Factory Racing), as Gajser took out third to secure the title with three rounds to spare.

Monster Energy Wilvo Yamaha’s Gautier Paulin was fourth, followed by Pauls Jonass (Rockstar Energy Husqvarna Factory Racing) in fifth.

The MX2 category saw points leader and reigning champion Jorge Prado (Red Bull KTM Factory Racing) continue his undefeated winning streak, taking out the overall win in dominant fashion.

He was joined on the podium by Thomas Kjer Olsen (Rockstar Energy Husqvarna Factory Racing) and Maxime Renaux (SM Action Yamaha), while the top five was completed by Jago Geerts (Monster Energy Kemea Yamaha Official MX2) and Calvin Vlaanderen (Team Honda HRC). Australian Mitch Evans (Team Honda 114 Motorsport) was 28th overall.

The WMX championship saw New Zealand’s Courtney Duncan (Bike It DRT Kawasaki) storm to victory with a 1-1 results sheet, defeating Larissa Papenmeier (Yamaha) and No Fear Yamaha’s Nancy Van De Ven.

The MXGP World Championship nows heads to Uddevalla in Sweden this weekend for round 16 of the series.

Detailed results