News 12 Aug 2019

Team USA squad confirmed for Assen’s MXoN

Anderson, Cooper and Osborne named in three-rider team.

Image: Supplied.

The three-rider squad that will make up Team USA for Assen’s 2019 Monster Energy FIM Motocross of Nations (MXoN) was revealed on the weekend at the Unadilla Pro Motocross national.

Former AMA Supercross champion Jason Anderson (Rockstar Energy Husqvarna Factory Racing) will spearhead the competitive team in MX1, joined by Justin Cooper (Monster Energy Yamalube Yamaha Star Racing) in MX2 and Zach Osborne (Rockstar Energy Husqvarna Factory Racing).

The once dominant nation has failed to earn the Chamberlain’s Trophy since 2011, with the prestigious event dominated by Team France over the last five years.

It was revealed last week that Kawasaki USA wasn’t prepared to send current Pro Motocross championship leaders Eli Tomac and Adam Cianciarulo, instead focusing on pre-season testing ahead of 2020.

Team Germany also confirmed its squad on the weekend, set to field riders Tom Koch (KTM), Henry Jacobi (F&H Kawasaki) and Dennis Ullrich (Husqvarna). The 2019 MXoN will take place on 28-29 September in The Netherlands.