News 5 Aug 2019

Consistency grants Gajser MXGP of Belgium victory

Prado maintains dominance in MX2 with 1-1 scorecard.

Image: Supplied.

A consistent 2-2 scorecard at Lommel has granted Tim Gajser (Honda HRC) victory at Belgium’s 14th round of the 2019 MXGP World Championship.

The red-plate holder extended his points lead to a staggering 187 points, while he was joined in the podium by race one winner Romain Febvre (Monster Energy Yamaha Factory Racing) in second, and Standing Construct KTM’s Glenn Coldenhoff in third.

The top five was rounded out by Jeremy Seewer (Monster Energy Yamaha Factory Racing) and Jeremy Van Horebeek (Team Honda SR), while race two winner Max Anstie (Standing Construct KTM) was seventh overall after a DNF in the opening encounter.

In the MX2 category, reigning champion and points leader Jorge Prado (Red Bull KTM Factory Racing) once again reigned supreme with a dominant 1-1 scorecard, bolstering his championship lead which now sits at 124 points.

Honda HRC’s Calvin Vlaanderen was second ahead of Monster Energy Kemea Yamaha Official MX2’s Ben Watson, while Tom Vialle (Red Bull KTM Factory Racing) and Adam Sterry (F&H Kawasaki) were fourth and fifth respectively. The MXGP World Championship now heads to Imola in Italy on 18 August.

Detailed results