News 4 Aug 2019

Waters and Todd clinch Husqvarna MX Nationals double

Coolum clean-sweep seals MXD crown for Raceline KTM newcomer Duffy.

Image: Foremost Media.

Longtime international Todd Waters is the new Thor MX1 champion at the conclusion of the 2019 Pirelli MX Nationals, clinching the premier class crown of Australian motocross at Coolum in Queensland this afternoon.

DPH Motorsport Husqvarna rider Waters, 28, has challenged for the 450 title on numerous occasions throughout his career and ultimately earned the number one plate with a dominant clean-sweep of both rounds nine and 10.

Waters wrapped it up with his fifth moto win of the weekend this afternoon, topping Sunday’s second moto by 4.694s ahead of Dylan Long (Empire Kawasaki) and another rising star in Caleb Ward (Davey Motorsports KTM) directly behind him. It was Luke Clout (CDR Yamaha Monster Energy) and Jesse Dobson (Husqvarna) filling the top five.

Positions six through 10 featured Brett Metcalfe (Penrite Honda Racing), Kirk Gibbs (CDR Yamaha Monster Energy), Connor Tierney (Yamaha), American import Justin Rodbell (KSF Racing Suzuki) and Richie Evans (Yamalube Yamaha Racing).

Overall for the finale it was Waters who reigned supreme once again, joined on the podium by Long and Metcalfe, while the final championship tally saw Waters crowned by 38 points ahead of Clout and Hayden Mellross (Raceline KTM Thor), who sat out the final moto with the weekend taking a toll on his knee injury.

Image: Foremost Media.

Already sporting the number one plate in Pirelli MX2, Wilson Todd successfully defended his championship for a DPH Motorsport Husqvarna double by comfortably riding to third in the final moto of the season.

While Kyle Webster (Penrite CRF Honda Racing) won moto two by 4.724s over Jay Wilson (Yamalube Yamaha Racing), all eyes were on early leader Todd as he made it elusive back-to-back titles in the quarter-litre category.

On track this afternoon, fourth was Nathan Crawford (Serco Yamaha) followed by his teammate Aaron Tanti, Morgan Fogarty (Davey Motorsports KTM), Bailey Malkiewicz (DPH Motorsport Husqvarna), Cooper Pozniak (KTM), Ricky Latimer (Yamaha) and Jai Constantinou (Honda).

In the end, Todd won another overall ahead of Webster and Wilson, while Todd’s closing advantage in the standings was 26 points over Webster and former champion Wilson, who was again a mainstay in the race for the 250 title.

Image: Foremost Media.

Western Australian Regan Duffy (Raceline KTM Thor) captured the Motul MXD championship in fine style by winning both motos today. He won moto two by 19.181s in a brilliant effort, taking the overall and championship in the process.

Behind Duffy in the final outing of the year was New Zealand’s Maximus Purvis (WBR Yamaha), unable to repeat his result of yesterday, but once again proving to be the primary challenger of Duffy to wrap up P2 in the final point standings.

It was Jayce Cosford (Yamaha) who took third, followed by Liam Walsh (KTM), Jai Walker (Husqvarna), Rhys Budd (Penrite CRF Honda Racing), Tye Jones (Husqvarna), Mackenzie O’Bree (Yamaha), Korey McMahon (KTM) and Ethan Ashmore (Husqvarna). The top three overall for today were Duffy, Purvis and Walker, while in the series the podium featured Duffy, Purvis and Budd.

Also competing this weekend were the Yamaha-backed support categories, with Alex Larwood winning the Rising Star Rookies from Ricky Chalmers and Cobie Bourke, while Luke Davis topped the 125cc Gold Cup over Lachlan Wilson and Cameron Taylor, plus Levi Townley, Marcus Nowland and Lochie Mclaren featured on the YZ65 Cup podium.

Detailed results