News 3 Aug 2019

Perfect Saturday at Coolum sets Waters up for maiden MX1 crown

Todd delivers pivotal MX1 clean-sweep as Purvis wins again in MXD.

Image: Foremost Media.

DPH Motorsport Husqvarna rider Todd Waters has one hand on the Thor MX1 crown in the 2019 Pirelli MX Nationals championship after completing a perfect round nine at Coolum on Saturday in Queensland.

While Waters was spectacular out front, championship challenger Luke Clout’s (CDR Yamaha Monster Energy) hopes have faded with a costly crash on lap one and further troubles later in moto two this afternoon.

It was a composed performance from Waters in rough, difficult track conditions despite being put under pressure by Kirk Gibbs (CDR Yamaha Monster Energy), going on to win by 24.898s over the South Australian who had an incident of his own toward race’s end.

Completing the top three was Dylan Long (Empire Kawasaki) in a spirited charge to position, passing Brett Metcalfe (Penrite Honda Racing) in the closing stages. Fifth came Caleb Ward (Davey Motorsports KTM), followed by Jesse Dobson (DPH Motorsport Husqvarna), a gritty Hayden Mellross (Raceline KTM Thor), Connor Tierney (Yamaha), Josh Adams (Yamaha) and Clout, who salvaged 10th.

Overall for the round it was Waters who took victory, with Gibbs second and Long third. Clout was credited sixth, which now sees him fall 23 points behind Waters in the title hunt, while Mellross’ eighth keeps his slim chances of the championship alive – a further 20 points back with the knee injury he’s carrying.

Image: Foremost Media.

The second of the Pirelli MX2 motos was again won by number one plate-holder Wilson Todd (DPH Motorsport Husqvarna), placing him in a prime position to clinch back-to-back titles on Sunday after his dominant display today.

After finishing the opening lap in fourth, Todd sprinted forward to work into the lead by the end of lap three, crossing the line 5.558s ahead of Kyle Webster (Penrite CRF Honda Racing). The latter again made a late charge but it wasn’t enough and Todd will take a 24-point lead into tomorrow.

Behind the pair of title rivals was former champion Jay Wilson (Yamalube Yamaha Racing) in another consistent effort, with Serco Yamaha teammates Nathan Crawford and Aaron Tanti completing the top five.

Positions sixth through 10th belonged to Dylan Wills (Davey Motorsports KTM), Morgan Fogarty (Davey Motorsports KTM), Ricky Latimer (Yamaha), Riley Ward (Davey Motorsports KTM) and Joel Evans (Husqvarna). The holeshot went to Bailey Malkiewicz (DPH Motorsport Husqvarna), who led the opening laps until he went down and eventually finished 13th.

Overall for the penultimate round today it was Todd who capitalised on his form in the dark sands to stand atop the rostrum, joined by Webster and Wilson. Those three still remain in title contention heading into tomorrow’s 10th and final round.

Image: Foremost Media.

Moto two in Motul MXD was all about Maximus Purvis (WBR Yamaha) for the second time today, charging to the chequered flag by 20.450s ahead of points-leader Regan Duffy (Raceline KTM Thor) and Noah Ferguson (KTM).

Early leader Rhys Budd (Penrite CRF Honda Racing) took P4, followed Jayce Cosford (Yamaha), Liam Walsh (KTM), Jai Walker (Husqvarna), Brodie Ellis (Yamaha), Mackenzie O’Bree (Yamaha) and Corben Weinert (Yamaha). The result keeps Purvis’ title hopes alive, but it’s Duffy who holds court by 26 points. Overall today, Purvis led Duffy and Ferguson.

Also on track today were the supporting categories as Luke Davis won moto one of the Yamaha 125cc Gold Cup from Cameron Taylor and Lachlan Wilson, while Alex Larwood won the first Yamaha Rising Star Rookies race ahead of Liam Atkinson and Ricky Chalmers. YZ65 Cup moto one was topped by Kiwi talent Levi Townley, topping Levi Mclaren and Jack Ellingham.

Round 10 of the 2019 Pirelli MX Nationals will be hosted tomorrow at Coolum, Queensland, in part two of this weekend’s mammoth double-header event to determine this year’s champions.

Detailed results