News 8 Jun 2019

KTM's Walsh tops Finke Desert Race prologue

Penrite Honda Racing duo Simpson and Dooley-McDonnell lock out the top three.

Image: Foremost Media.

KTM Desert Racing Team’s David Walsh will start first tomorrow in the Bike category at the 2019 Tatts Finke Desert Race after topping today’s prologue.

With last year’s victor Toby Price solely racing the Car category, 2018 runner-up Walsh hit the prologue circuit first, lapping up the fastest time of 4m49s to defeat Penrite Honda Racing’s Jack Simpson, who was 5.2 seconds off from the pole sitter.

Penrite Honda Racing teammate Jack Dooley-McDonnell locked out the top three, finishing a fraction behind Victorian Simpson, while the top five was completed by Jacob Smith (Schwarz Husqvarna Desert Team) and Nathan Trigg (Motul Pirelli Sherco Factory Racing).

Positions six through to 10 were taken out by Beau Ralston (Schwarz Husqvarna Desert Team), Sam Davie (Schwarz Husqvarna Desert Team), Mark Grove (Penrite Honda Racing), Jerakye Andrews (Yamaha) and Lachlan Terry (KTM).

Riders will make the 226-kilometre journey to Finke tomorrow, returning back to Alice Springs on Monday where the 2019 Finke Desert Race champion will be crowned.

Detailed results