News 26 May 2019

Tomac steals points lead with dominant Fox Raceway victory

Cianciarulo wins 250MX class as Lawrence scores maiden moto podium.

Image: Supplied.

Monster Energy Kawasaki’s Eli Tomac has stolen the points lead from Ken Roczen (Team Honda HRC) at Fox Raceway’s second stop of the 2019 Lucas Oil AMA Pro Motocross Championship.

The two-time defending champion put on a dominant display, notching up moto wins in both outings to earn the overall win ahead of Red Bull KTM Factory Racing’s Marvin Musquin, who was credited second on count-back after equalling on points with Roczen.

Zach Osborne (Rockstar Energy Husqvarna Factory Racing) was fourth followed by teammate Jason Anderson (Rockstar Energy Husqvarna Factory Racing), while Australians Dean Ferris (Monster Energy Yamaha Factory Racing) and Todd Waters (Husqvarna) were 11th and 13th overall.

In the 250MX category, points leader Adam Cianciarulo (Monster Energy Pro Circuit Kawasaki) reigned supreme once again, claiming the overall with a 3-1 results sheet. Monster Energy Yamalube Yamaha Star Racing duo Justin Cooper and Dylan Ferrandis locked out the top three, followed by Chase Sexton (Geico Honda) and Colt Nichols (Monster Energy Yamalube Yamaha Star Racing).

Australian Hunter Lawrence (Geico Honda) was struck with a rare mechanical failure in the opening moto when a rock dislodged his oil cap, however he returned in fine form for race two, challenging for the lead before accepting runner-up honours for ninth overall.

Compatriot Wilson Todd, racing for Red Bull TLD KTM, overcame bike damage in race one to earn 29-14 race scores, crediting him 19th overall. The Pro Motocross championship now heads to Thunder Valley on 2 June.

Detailed results