News 4 May 2019

KTM-mounted Ferris dominates Murray Bridge moto one on return

Webster opens MX2 on top as Purvis wins MXD to begin MX Nationals double-header.

Image: Foremost Media.

Recover8 KTM rider Dean Ferris made a convincing return to the 2019 Pirelli MX Nationals in moto one at Murray Bridge, dominating the series regulars on his way to victory.

Ferris, who qualified third in Raceline Super Pole, led from the outset to eventually cross the line 13.226s ahead of Kirk Gibbs (CDR Yamaha Monster Energy) in the Thor MX1 opener.

Any doubts that Ferris was lacking preparation while looking to secure a ride in the US were discounted, appearing as competitive as he was in his three-year title run between 2016 and 2018.

South Australia’s Gibbs, meanwhile, put in a solid performance, comfortably ahead of Jayden Rykers (Suzuki) who had his best ride of the year since stepping up to the premier class. The top five was filled by Hayden Mellross (Raceline KTM Thor) and top qualifier Luke Clout (CDR Yamaha Monster Energy), who went down early.

Sixth was Todd Waters (DPH Motorsport Husqvarna), followed by Richie Evans (Yamalube Yamaha Racing), Lawson Bopping (Empire Kawasaki), Justin Rodbell (KSF Racing Suzuki) and the returning Dylan Long (Empire Kawasaki), completing the top 10.

Image: Foremost Media.

The back-to-back Pirelli MX2 sprint races were each won by Penrite CRF Honda Racing’s Kyle Webster.

He topped the first outing ahead of Jay Wilson (Yamalube Yamaha Racing) and newcomer Bailey Malkiewicz (DPH Motorsport Husqvarna), then the second over Wilson and Kaleb Barham (Husqvarna).

Collectively, it was Webster who scored top points for the moto victory ahead of Wilson and Barham. Current points-leader and defending champion Wilson Todd (DPH Motorsport Husqvarna) scored fifth-place results in both sprint races.

In the Motul MXD division it was WBR Yamaha rider Maximus Purvis who rode to the moto one win, 6.161s in front of Brodie Ellis (Yamaha).

Red plate-holder Regan Duffy (Raceline KTM Thor) was third, with Rhys Budd (Penrite CRF Honda Racing) fourth – the trio within a second at race’s end. Fifth came Jack Kukas (WBR Yamaha).

Detailed results