News 14 Apr 2019

Gibbs breaks through for victory at Broadford MX Nationals

Todd and Duffy capture wins in MX2 and MXD respectively.

Image: Foremost Media.

Kirk Gibbs (CDR Yamaha Monster Energy) has broken through for his first victory this season at Broadford’s third round of the 2019 Pirelli MX Nationals in Victoria.

It was points leader Hayden Mellross (Raceline KTM Thor) who quickly moved into the lead during the final MX1 moto, controlling the field until the final lap where he made an unusual mistake, crashing before falling over again while remounting. He relinquished the lead to Gibbs and demoted himself to fourth in the process.

Sprint race winner Todd Waters (DPH Motorsport Husqvarna) capitalised on the error to claim second ahead of Luke Clout (CDR Yamaha Monster Energy) in third, as Mellross salvaged P4.

Fifth was credited to Jesse Dobson (Husqvarna), followed by AORC regular Daniel Sanders (Husqvarna Enduro Racing Team), Erki Kahro (KTM), Jayden Rykers (Suzuki), Justin Rodbell (KSF Racing Suzuki) and Brett Metcalfe (Penrite Honda Racing). Overall Gibbs captured the win on countback over Waters, as Clout also took third on countback ahead of Mellross.

Image: Foremost Media.

After a slender victory in moto one, reigning champion and points leader Wilson Todd (DPH Motorsport Husqvarna) couldn’t be touched in race two has he dominated the encounter, earning the overall win in the process.

The action unfolded behind as Kyle Webster (Penrite Pirelli CRF Honda Racing) fended off a hard-charging Jay Wilson (Yamalube Yamaha Racing), who came from behind with some blistering lap-times to wind up third.

Serco Yamaha’s Aaron Tanti was fourth followed by Riley Dukes (Husqvarna), while the top 10 was rounded out by Dylan Wills (Davey Motorsports KTM), Nathan Crawford (Serco Yamaha), Isaac Ferguson (KTM), Cooper Pozniak (KTM), and Bailey Malkiewicz (DPH Motorsport Husqvarna). Todd secured the overall ahead of Webster and Wilson.

Image: Foremost Media.

The final MXD encounter saw points leader Regan Duffy (Raceline KTM Thor) make an early pass on Rhys Budd (Penrite Pirelli CRF Honda Racing) for the lead, where he remained for the 11-lap affair to secure victory and the overall win. Mason Semmens (Raceline KTM Thor) closed in on Duffy in the closing stages for second, as Budd settled for third position.

Brodie Ellis (Yamaha) and Jack Kukas (WBR Yamaha) concluded the top five, as sixth to 10th was completed by race one winner Maximus Purvis (WBR Yamaha), Liam Walsh (Davey Motorsports KTM), Korey McMahon (KTM), Jai Walker (Husqvarna) and Mackenzie O’Bree (Yamaha). Overall, it was Duffy by one point over Semmens and Budd, who finished the weekend level on 62 points.

The Rising Rookies Cup was taken out by Levi Rodgers (Yamaha) from Alex Larwood (Yamaha) and Brad West (Kawasaki). The MX Nationals now heads to Murray Bridge in South Australia on 4-5 May for rounds four and five.

Detailed results