News 31 Mar 2019

Webb strengthens points lead with Houston Triple Crown win

Ferrandis scores second consecutive 250SX West victory.

Image: Supplied.

Red Bull KTM Factory Racing’s Cooper Webb has strengthened his points lead at Houston’s 13th round of the 2019 Monster Energy AMA Supercross Championship, marking the third Triple Crown of the season.

Webb lodged a supremely consistent 2-1-3 scorecard to earn the overall win, defeating teammate Marvin Musquin (Red Bull KTM Factory Racing) and Dean Wilson (Rockstar Energy Husqvarna Factory Racing), who scored his first podium of the season.

Fourth and fifth were awarded Eli Tomac (Monster Energy Kawasaki) and Cole Seely (Team Honda HRC), while race one winner Ken Roczen (Team Honda HRC) wound up 10th overall after suffering a heavy fall at the beginning of race two, forcing him out of the encounter before returning in the final outing.

In the 250SX West division, Dylan Ferrandis (Monster Energy Yamalube Yamaha Star Racing) notched up his second consecutive victory with a 2-1-2 scorecard. RJ Hampshire (Geico Honda) was runner-up ahead of Colt Nichols (Monster Energy Yamalube Yamaha Star Racing).

Points leader Adam Cianciarulo (Monster Energy Pro Circuit Kawasaki) was fourth followed by Jimmy Decotis (JGRMX Yoshimura Suzuki Factory Racing). The AMA Supercross series now heads to Nashville next weekend for round 14.

Detailed results