News 31 Mar 2019

Kahro benefits from Clout penalty in Wonthaggi race one win

Dual victory for Todd in MX2 sprint races, Duffy triumphant in MXD moto one.

Image: Foremost Media.

Visiting Estonian Erki Kahro (KTM) has stunned the competition by claiming victory in MX1 race one at Wonthaggi’s second round of the 2019 Pirelli MX Nationals, benefiting from a 10-second penalty handed down to Luke Clout (CDR Yamaha Monster Energy).

It was Lawson Bopping (Empire Kawasaki) who led the field early on his his return to the outdoor series – his first MX Nationals in three years – however his lack of seat time soon got the better of him, as Kahro took control from around the halfway mark.

The European talent looked primed for victory, but a hard-charging Clout persevered right to the very end, overcoming the KTM privateer with just a number of corners to go in the 17-lap outing. However, Clout was handed an in-race penalty of 10 seconds for an infringement early on this outing, pushing him back to second.

Hayden Mellross (Raceline KTM Thor) stormed through the field to wind up in third ahead of Jayden Rykers (Suzuki) and Brett Metcalfe (Penrite Honda Racing), as the top 10 consisted of Bopping, Richie Evans (Yamalube Yamaha Racing), Zak Small (Husqvarna), Kirk Gibbs (CDR Yamaha Monster Energy), and Charlie Creech (Husqvarna).

Former points leader Todd Waters (DPH Motorsport Husqvarna) suffered a suspected mechanical failure just minutes into the race.

Image: Foremost Media.

The MX2 category experienced the all-new Sprint format for the time this season, where two back-to-back eight-lap motos were hosted, with the overall scores from each amounting to a final race score.

The first encounter saw reigning champion Wilson Todd (DPH Motorsport Husqvarna) emerge victorious, stamping his authority with a commanding 20.843s victory over Serco Yamaha’s Aaron Tanti, while KTM-mounted privateer Cooper Pozniak put in an inspiring performance to close out the podium.

Jay Wilson (Yamalube Yamaha Racing) and Jy Dickson (KTM) concluded top five, while positions six through 10 were completed by Nathan Crawford (Serco Yamaha), points leader Jy Roberts (Raceline KTM Thor), Sam Pelz (Husqvarna), Isaac Ferguson (KTM) and Dylan Wills (Davey Motorsports KTM).

Image: Foremost Media.

The second Sprint race was again a Wilson Todd show, displaying incredible form as he defeated Roberts by a comfortable 22.822s. Joel Evans (Husqvarna) made a surprise charge to third position, edging out Pozniak and Kyle Webster (Penrite Pirelli CRF Honda Racing).

The top 10 was completed by Bailey Malkiewicz (DPH Motorsport Husqvarna), Pelz, Riley Dukes (Husqvarna), Tanti and Dickson. Todd receives the full 35 points ahead of Pozniak and Roberts.

In MXD, class rookie Regan Duffy (Raceline KTM Thor) earned him his maiden race victory, taking home top honours in the 11-lap outing to beat Mason Rowe (KTM) by 4.206s. Rhys Budd (Penrite Pirelli CRF Honda Racing) was a distant third ahead of Noah Ferguson (Davey Motorsports KTM) and Mason Semmens (Davey Motorsport KTM). The second motos will commence from 1:45pm AEDT.

Detailed results