News 31 Mar 2019

Clout overcomes Wonthaggi penalties to earn maiden MX1 victory

Todd and Duffy dominate MX2 and MXD at MX Nationals round two.

Image: Foremost Media.

CDR Yamaha Monster Energy’s Luke Clout has overcome penalties in both motos to earn his maiden premier class overall victory at Wonthaggi’s second round of the 2019 Pirelli MX Nationals in Victoria.

The second moto saw KSF Racing Suzuki’s Justin Rodbell hit the lead, however he was quickly overtaken by Todd Waters (DPH Motorsport Husqvarna), who rebounded phenomenally to take out a dominant race win after suffering a mechanical DNF in race one.

Clout and Hayden Mellross (Raceline KTM Thor) both offered Waters a challenge at the halfway mark, with Mellross making his way by Clout in the closing stages. It all came undone for the KTM pilot, crashing violently when negotiating a high-speed turn, allowing Clout to regain second and build a comfortable advantage that extended beyond his 20-second in race penalty.

Mellross remounted for third, and was followed by Rodbell and Jayden Rykers (KSF Racing Suzuki). The top 10 was rounded out by race one winner Erki Kahro (KTM), Kirk Gibbs (CDR Yamaha Monster Energy), Jesse Dobson (Husqvarna), Charlie Creech (Husqvarna) and Lawson Bopping (Empire Kawasaki). Overall, Clout was victorious ahead of Mellross – who now takes over as points leader – and visiting Estonian Kahro.

Image: Foremost Media.

In MX2, reigning champion Wilson Todd (DPH Motorsport Husqvarna) earned his first overall victory of the season in dominant fashion, storming the wins in the opening two Sprint races before putting on a commanding display in this afternoon’s final encounter.

Remaining supremely consistent in the tough conditions, number one plated Todd emerged with a comfortable 10.825s win over Penrite Pirelli CRF Honda Racing’s Kyle Webster, as 2015 champion Jay Wilson (Yamalube Yamaha Racing) completed the podium.

Aaron Tanti (Serco Yamaha) and Jy Roberts (Raceline KTM Thor) were fourth and fifth respectively, followed by Dylan Wills (Davey Motorsports KTM), Jy Dickson (KTM), Nathan Crawford (Serco Yamaha), Sam Pelz (Husqvarna) and Issac Ferguson (KTM). Todd secured the overall and now the points lead, and was joined on the podium by Tanti and Roberts.

Image: Foremost Media.

The MXD category also saw a dominant performance, this time by class rookie and Western Australian Regan Duffy (Raceline KTM Thor). The youthful talent pulled together a pair of race wins to earn his maiden victory in the category.

In race two, he fended off a charge from round one winner Maximus Purvis (Bulk Nutrients WBR Yamaha), ultimately crossing the line with a 10.356s advantage. Mason Rowe (KTM) was third ahead of Rhys Budd (Penrite Pirelli CRF Honda Racing) and Noah Ferguson (Davey Motorsports KTM). On the podium it was Duffy from Rowe and Budd.

The 125cc Gold Cup was taken out by Cameron Taylor (Yamaha), followed by Joshua Kilvington (KTM) and Nicholas Murray (Yamaha). The next stop on the MX Nationals calendar is scheduled for 14 April at Broadford in Victoria.

Detailed results