News 10 Mar 2019

AORC round two wins to Milner, Sanders and Snodgrass

Bacon and Gardiner again victorious in Toowoomba EJ and Women's categories.

Image: Foremost Media.

A dust-filled second round of the 2019 Yamaha Australian Off-Road Championship (AORC) was completed today in Toowoomba, Queensland, with Daniel Milner, Daniel Sanders and Lyndon Snodgrass emerging on top.

Milner was once again the class of the field to lead the way outright in the Sprints, resulting in an E2 class win for the KTM Enduro Racing Team rider.

Stepping across to the KTM 350 EXC-F in the mid-tier for this season, Milner topped Josh Green (Yamaha Active8 Yamalube Racing) and fellow Yamaha pilot Jeremy Carpentier for the round. Broc Grabham (Honda) and Brad Hardaker (Yamaha) rounded out the top five.

Image: Foremost Media.

In E3, now aboard the Husqvarna Enduro Racing Team FE 501, there was no stopping Sanders, well clear of Andy Wilksch (Motul Pirelli Sherco Team) and Husqvarna desert racer Beau Ralston. In fourth and fifth positions came Jesse Lawton (Husqvarna) and Matt Murry (Husqvarna).

The hard-fought E1 field was today topped by former E3 champion Snodgrass, edging defending title-holder Styke for position following a strong showing in the opening test. Behind that pair came newcomer Michael Driscoll (Yamaha Active8 Yamalube Racing), from Fraser Higlett (Husqvarna Enduro Racing Team) and Jonte Reynders (Yamaha).

Image: Foremost Media.

Four-time EnduroGP world champion Matthew Phillips (KTM) ended up well down the order in 16th today, understood to have injured his knee early on this morning. Only three special tests were carried out today due to the extreme dry conditions.

It was better news for Phillips’ stablemate Kyron Bacon (KTM) as he won the EJ class for the second day in a row, while the Women’s class once again saw Jessica Gardiner (Yamaha) shine on her way to the round win.

The 2019 AORC series will resume on 6-7 April when rounds three and four are hosted in Dongog, New South Wales. Both of those will be contested as Enduro formats.

Detailed results