News 1 Feb 2019

New-look SB Motorsports Suzuki Ecstar Race Team revealed

Dyce and Brewster make up two-rider squad in MX1 and MX2 categories.

Image: Marc Jones.

SB Motorsports and Suzuki Motorcycles Australia will form a new-look SB Motorsports Suzuki Ecstar Race Team for the 2019 Pirelli MX Nationals and Australian Supercross Championship, the Victorian operation has confirmed.

The squad will field 2017 MX Nationals MXD champion Cody Dyce in the premier class for his maiden outdoor campaign in MX1, while Josh Brewster will pilot the all-new 2019 RM-Z250 in MX2 as a potential third rider is still to be determined.

“This is a big year for me stepping up to the MX1 class” Dyce explained. “I am excited to be working with Suzuki and the SB Motorsports team to have the opportunity to show everyone what I can do on the RM-Z450 against the best riders in the country.”

The new partnership with Suzuki and its genuine oil Ecstar is an exiting new platform for team manager Scott Brewster, which will see the outfit navigate its support through local dealerships Byrners Suzuki and Vern Graham Suzuki.

“It’s a great fit for us to be partnering with Suzuki for 2019,” Brewster commented. “We were searching for a partner to represent and grow a relationship with long-term, and Suzuki has been great to work with over the off-season creating this program, offering us a great platform through two of their largest dealerships to go racing this season.”

The opening round of the Pirelli MX Nationals is scheduled for 17 March at Appin in New South Wales, which commences the 10-round series that will be hosted over eight weekend.