News 14 Jan 2019

Fox Raceway returns to 2019 Pro Motocross schedule

Glen Helen dropped from 2019 American motocross calendar.

2019 ama motocross calendar

Image: Supplied.

Fox Raceway – formerly known as Pala – has been added to the 2019 Lucas Oil AMA Pro Motocross Championship schedule, slotting in as the second round of the series on 25 May to replace Glen Helen.

Pala previously served as the season finale of the series for back-to-back seasons in 2010 and 2011, which signified the return of the sport to the San Diego area following an absence that spanned multiple decades after the closure of famed Carlsbad Raceway.

The season-opener will remain at Hangtown on 18 May, one week before Pala, while the championship will travel to Thunder Valley in Colorado on 1 June for round three. High Point is scheduled to host round four on 15 June, followed by WW Ranch Motocross Track on June 22 and Southwick on 29 June.

Poplur venue RedBud will host it’s traditional Independence Day weekend round on 6 July, marking the seventh stop, as Spring Creek and Washougal will follow on 20 July and 27 July respectively.

Heading into the final rounds, Unadilla is set for a 10 August date, with the penultimate stop taking place at Budds Creek on 17 August. The championship will conclude on 24 August at Ironman Raceway.

2019 Lucas Oil AMA Pro Motocross Championship calendar:
Rd1 – 18 May – Hangtown Motocross Classic – Prairie City, California
Rd2 – 25 May – Pala National – Fox Raceway, California
Rd3 – 1 June – Thunder Valley National – Lakewood, Colorado
Rd4 – 15 June – High Point National – Mt. Morris, Pennsylvania
Rd5 – 22 June – Florida National – WW Ranch Motocross Park, Florida
Rd6 – 29 June – Soutwick National – The Wick 338, Massachusetts
Rd7 – 6 July – RedBud National – Buchanan, Michigan
Rd8 – 20 July – Spring Creek National – Millville, Minnesota
Rd9 – 27 July – Washougal National – Washougal MX Park, Washington
Rd10 – 10 August – Unadilla National – New Berlin, New York
Rd11 – 17 August – Budds Creek National – Mechanicsville, Maryland
Rd12 – 24 August – Ironman National – Crawfordsville, Indiana